401 863-2476
Fax 863-9595

Distributed May 31, 2004
Contact Ricardo Howell

Text
The 236th Commencement
Kathryn S. Fuller: “A Few Thoughts on Bees, Fungi,
and the Importance of Perspective in a Code Orange World”

Kathryn S. Fuller, president and CEO of the World Wildlife Fund, is a 1968 graduate of Brown and a member of the Board of Fellows. She delivered the address at the Graduate School Commencement Ceremony Monday, May 31, 2004, on Lincoln Field. She was introduced by Karen Newman, dean of the Graduate School. The text of Fuller’s address follows here. (See also news release 03-135)

Thank you, Dean Newman, and congratulations to all of you. It’s always a treat to be back at Brown – and a very special privilege to be back with the opportunity to speak to you. I must admit that, when I graduated from Brown, I never imagined that I would one day return in this role.

I’ve been to a number of commencements in recent years and spoken at a few. Nonetheless I found the prospect of speaking at my alma mater and to an audience as diverse and accomplished as this one a challenge.

So, I figured that a little research on commencement speeches might be in order and did what you couldn’t do back when I was a newly minted Brown graduate: a Google search. And it turned up some interesting facts.

I discovered, for instance, that the longest commencement speech on record was delivered at Harvard in the early 19th century. It lasted more than six hours and was delivered in Latin. And repeated in Greek. I was unable to discover the name of the speaker, but then it’s not clear if anyone survived the oration long enough to commemorate it.

There were, perhaps not surprisingly, many more claimants to the title of shortest commencement speech on record. The clear winner in this category, it seems to me, has to have been the late Nels Smith, former governor of Wyoming.