Skip over navigation

Faculty Updates

Welcome New Faculty!

The Department has welcomed three new faculty members during the past year:

Ralph Milliken, Assistant Professor

Ralph arrived July 2012. He received his PhD from Brown under the guidance of Prof. Jack Mustard. He comes to us from the University of Notre Dame. His current and future research interests focus on the use of spectroscopic techniques for quantitative determination of surface composition on the Earth and the surfaces of other planetary bodies.

Baylor Fox-Kemper, Assistant Professor

Baylor joined the Department in January 2013. He received his PhD in physical oceanography from the MIT/WoodsHole Joint Program. Baylor teaches an Introduction to Physical Oceanography in the spring and a first year seminar in the fall, as well as launching his ocean-modeling program at Brown.

Jung-Eun Lee, Assistant Professor

The Department welcomed Jung-Eun in July 2013. Her graduate study from University of California, Berkeley focused on the interpretation of Antarctic temperatures during the glacial time using stable isotope signatures (measured by other scientists) and a climate modeling.

Congratulations, Professor Jim Head! Professor Head has been named the N.L. Bowen awardee for 2013. The N. L. Bowen Award is given annually by the Volcanology, Geochemistry, and Petrology Section of the American Geophysical Union to recognize outstanding contributions to volcanology, geochemistry, or petrology. The award will be presented at the American Geophysical Union Fall Meeting in December, 2013.

Professor Amanda Lynch recently traveled to SE Australia to build on the research and collaboration with the Yorta Yorta Nation of SE Australia. The team conducted a community gathering to make plans for further research on improving water management in the Murray River region. The focus of the discussions were on ethical standards, knowledge building and sharing, and the relationships between culture, technology and science. Around 60 people attended the on-country meeting at Yielima, on the banks of the Murray River, including new collaborators from the Gunditjmara Nation, Parks Victoria and Parks NSW, the Department of Sustainability and the Environment, and the University of Hawaii.

photo: Yorta Yorta elder Denise Morgan with Hawaiian visitor and elder Kekuhi Kealiikanakaoleohaili

Professor Jack Mustard received the NASA Exceptional Public Service Award Medal at the NASA Agency Honor Awards ceremony on August 2, 2012, at the James E. Webb Auditorium, NASA Headquarters, Washington, DC. The award was presented by NASA Administrator Charles Bolden. Congratulations, Jack!

Please join us in welcoming Apollo 15 Commander David Scott to the Department! Commander Scott has been appointed a Visiting Professor. Commander Scott will continue his long collaboration with the Department by participating in the teaching of GEOL 0050, and to continue research on the Moon with Brown's Planetary Geoscience group.

photo: Professor Jim Head introduces Commander Scott at the Department's Commencement exercises in May 2011 when he received an honorary degree from the University