Skip over navigation
Brown Home Brown Home Brown University Cogut Center for the Humanities Brown Home Brown Home Brown University

Fellows' Seminars 2007-08

Cogut Center Fellows meet on a regular basis to discuss their work-in-progress. Interested faculty and students from the Brown community, as well as other invited guests, may register to attend each seminar. Registration is required. Pre-circulated papers are made available to registered participants. It is expected that all participants will have read the papers and will be prepared to discuss them at the seminar. To register for a seminar, please contact the Cogut Center (Humanities_Center@brown.edu).

Fall 2007

Tuesday, September 18
"Globalization and the State: Is an Era of Neoeugenics in the Offing?"
Margaret Lock
Marjorie Bronfman Professor in Social Studies in Medicine,
McGill University

Tuesday, October 2
"Communities of Immunity in the Iberian Atlantic World"
Adrián López Denis
Postdoctoral Fellow in International Humanities
History/Latin American Studies, Brown University

Tuesday, October 9
"The Image of the Soldier: Fascism, Militarism and Masculinity"
Lorenzo Benadusi
Postdoctoral Fellow in International Humanities
Italian Studies/Gender Studies, Brown University

Tuesday, October 16
"Blue Helmets and Black Markets: The Business of Survival in Besieged Sarajevo "
Professor Peter Andreas
Political Science, Brown University

Thursday, October 18
"The Birth of a Song Recital"
Lucy Shelton
Distinguished Visiting Scholar

Tuesday, October 23
"Nature's Disciplines: A Report on the New England Renaissance Conference"
Professor Evelyn Lincoln, History of Art & Architecture/Italian Studies
Professor Tara Nummedal, History
Professor Nicolás Wey-Gómez, Hispanic Studies
Brown University

Tuesday, October 30
"Earthly Jerusalem: From the Romans to the Fatimids"
Katharina Galor
Adjunct Assistant Professor, Judaic Studies
Brown University

Tuesday, November 6
"The Double Inheritance: The Afterlife of Colonial Modernity in Former ‘Manchuria’"
Yukiko Koga
Postdoctoral Fellow in International Humanities
East Asian Studies, Brown University

Tuesday, November 13
"The Work of Women's Words: Gendered Dialogue in Ancient Syriac Hymns"
Professor Susan Harvey
Religious Studies, Brown University

Tuesday, November 27
"Bodily Violence and Textual Material"
Amy Vegari
Cogut Center Graduate Fellow
Comparative Literature, Brown University

Tuesday, December 4
"Thinking about Food in Chinese History "
Professor Mark Swislocki
History, Brown University

Tuesday, December 11
"The Imperatives of Aesthetic Modernism and Muslim Nationalism in the Critical Thought of Muhammad Hasan Askari in the 1940s"
Nauman Naqvi
Mellon Postdoctoral Fellow
Comparative Literature, Brown University

Spring 2008

Tuesday, January 29
"Desire, Absorption, and the Close-Up"
Professor Mary Ann Doane
Modern Culture and Media, Brown University

Tuesday, February 5
"Optics and Representations of Stage Space in Eighteenth-Century French Theatre Design"
Pannill Camp
Cogut Center Graduate Fellow
Theatre, Speech and Dance, Brown University

Tuesday, February 12
"José Enrique Rodó's Enduring americanismo and the Question of Brazil"
Robert Newcomb
Cogut Center Graduate Fellow
Portuguese and Brazilian Studies, Brown University

Tuesday, February 26
"Cartesian Solitude and the Nature of Reading: The View from Classical Antiquity "
Professor David Konstan
Classics, Brown University

Tuesday, March 4
"Shadows at Dawn: The Camp Grant Massacre and the Borderlands of History"
Professor Karl Jacoby
History, Brown University

Tuesday, March 11
"Dar al-Islam and the Territorial Problem"
Ian Straughn
Mellon Postdoctoral Fellow
Archaeology and the Ancient World, Brown University

Thursday, March 13
"Sleepless in America"
Emily Martin
Professor of Anthropology, New York University

Tuesday, March 18
"Thinking about, Conceptualizing, and Theorizing Peace in the Ancient Greek World’"
Professor Kurt Raaflaub
Classics and History, Brown University

Tuesday, April 1
"The Janus-face of Postcolonial Caribbean Performance: Negotiating Tradition, Creativity and Ambivalence in Trinidadian Folk Practice"
Meida McNeal
Postdoctoral Fellow in International Humanities
Theatre, Speech and Dance, Brown University

Tuesday, April 8
"Adventures on the Möbius Strip: Anthropological Thoughts on Reproduction and Disability"
Rayna Rapp
Professor of Anthropology, New York University

Tuesday, April 15
"Mass Man and the Future of the Social in Nineteenth-Century Literature"
Emily Steinlight
Cogut Center Graduate Fellow
English, Brown University

Tuesday, April 22
"When the State and Your Kidneys Fail: Dialysis Patients, Political Etiologies, and the Egyptian Body Politic"
Sherine Hamdy
Mellon Postdoctoral Fellow
Anthropology/Science and Technology Studies, Brown University

Tuesday, April 29
"Systematicity and Conditions of Experience in Kant"
Michael Rohlf
Mellon Postdoctoral Fellow
Philosophy, Brown University

Tuesday, May 6
"Charity and Piety in Late Antique Judaism"
Professor Michael Satlow
Judaic Studies, Brown University