People

Core Faculty

Alexandrina Agloro

Visiting Instructor in American Studies
Alexandrina_Agloro@brown.edu

Leticia Alvarado

Assistant Professor of American Studies
and Ethnic Studies
Leticia_Alvarado@brown.edu

Wanni Anderson

Adjunct Professor of Anthropology
(research) and Visiting professor of American Studies 
Wanni_Anderson@brown.edu

Angelo Baca

Visiting Instructor in American Studies
Angelo_Baca@brown.edu 

Radiclani Clytus

Assistant Professor of English and
American Studies 
Radiclani_Clytus@brown.edu

Robert P. Emlen

Senior Lecturer
Robert_Emlen@brown.edu

Caroline Frank

Visiting Assistant Professor of American Studies
Caroline_Frank@Brown.EDU

Matthew Pratt Guterl

Chair, Professor of Africana Studies and
American Studies
Matthew_Guterl@brown.edu

Beverly Haviland

Senior Lecturer and Visiting Associate Professor, American Studies. Concentration Advisor 
Beverly_Haviland@brown.edu

Elizabeth Hoover

Assistant Professor of American
Studies and Ethnic Studies
Elizabeth_M_Hoover@brown.edu

Evelyn Hu-DeHart

Professor of History, Ethnic Studies,
and American Studies
Evelyn_Hu-DeHart@brown.edu

Robert G. Lee

Associate Professor of American Studies
Robert_Lee@brown.edu

Steven Lubar

Professor, Departments of American Studies, History, and History of Art and Architecture and Director, John Nicholas Brown Center for Public Humanities and Cultural Heritage 
Lubar@brown.edu

Richard Alan Meckel

Professor of American Studies
Richard_Meckel@brown.edu

Monica Martinez

Assistant Professor of Ethnic Studies
and American Studies
Monica_Martinez@brown.edu

Ralph E. Rodriguez

Associate Professor of American Studies and
English
Ralph_Rodriguez@brown.edu

Naoko Shibusawa

Associate Professor of History and
American Studies
Naoko_Shibusawa@brown.edu

Elena Shih

Assistant Professor of American Studies 

Elena_Shih@brown.edu

Susan Smulyan

Professor of American Studies
Susan_Smulyan@brown.edu

Samuel Zipp

Associate Professor of Urban Studies and
American Studies
Samuel_Zipp@brown.edu

 

 


Emeritus Faculty

Mari Jo Buhle
William J. Kenan Jr. University Professor, American Studies and History 
Mari_Buhle@brown.edu

Paul Buhle
Senior Lecturer, American Studies
Paul_Buhle@brown.edu

Patrick Malone
Professor, American Studies and Urban Studies. Director of the Urban Studies Program 
Patrick_Malone@brown.edu 

Barton St. Armand
Professor, American Studies
Barton_St_Armand@brown.edu