Faculty Trainers

Faculty across basic and physical science departments at Brown participate in graduate training in MCB.

Name
Title
Department
Research Interests

Arkhipova, Irina

Visit Arkhipova website 
Irina_Arkhipova@brown.edu
+1 508-289-7120

Associate Professor and Associate Scientist, Marine Biological Laboratory, Woods Hole Molecular, Cell Biology and Biochemistry Impact of eukaryotic transposable elements on genome function and evolution; Horizontal gene transfer in eukaryotes

Atwood, Walter

Read profile
Visit Atwood lab website
Walter_Atwood@Brown.edu
+1 401 863 3116

Professor Molecular, Cellular Biology Biochemistry Pathogenesis of the human polyomaviruses, JC Virus (JCV) and BK Virus (BKV)

Barnea, Gilad

Read profile
Gilad_Barnea@brown.edu
+1 401 863-3126

Assistant Professor Neuroscience
Molecular and Cellular Neurobiology section
Molecular biology and mouse genetics in the mapping and characterization of neuronal circuits used by the brain for the processing of olfactory information

Bender, Judith

Read profile
Judith_Bender@brown.edu
+1 401 863 6238

Professor Molecular, Cellular Biology Biochemistry Gene regulation and transcriptional silencing in Arabidopsis

Bennett, Richard

Read profile
Richard_Bennett@brown.edu
+1 401 863 6341

Associate Professor Molecular Microbiology and Immunology Biology of the human pathogen Candida albicans; mechanisms of fungal pathogenesis

Berson, David

Read profile
Visit lab website
David_Berson@brown.edu
+1 401 863-2555

Professor Neuroscience
Molecular and Cellular Neurobiology section
Cell types, characteristics and intraretinal mechanisms that shape stimulus selectivities of retinal ganglion cells.

Bowen, Wayne

Read profile
Wayne_Bowen@brown.edu
+1 401 863 3253

Professor Molecular Pharmacology,
Physiology and Biotechnology
Sigma receptors as therapeutic and diagnostic targets

Brossay, Laurent

Read profile
Laurent_Brossay@brown.edu
+1 401 863 9645

Associate Professor Molecular Microbiology and
Immunology
Pathobiology, NK T cells and NK cell immune responses

Chen, Qian

Read profile
Qian_Chen@Brown.edu
+1 401 444 5676

Professor Orthopaedics Cartilage and bone development; orthopaedics

Connors, Barry

Read Profile
Barry_Connors@Brown.edu
+1 401 863 2982

Professor Neuroscience Cellular physiology of the mammalian brain

Créton, Robbert

Read profile
Visit research group website
Robbert_Creton@brown.edu
+1 401 863 9646 

Associate Professor (Research) Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, and Biochemistry Brain development and behavior

Dahlberg, Albert

Read profile
AE_Dahlberg@Brown.edu
+1 401 863 2223

Professor Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, and Biochemistry Understanding the catalytic role of ribosomal RNA in protein synthesis.
Deaconescu, Alexandra                    Read Profile                                      Alexandra_Deaconescu@brown.edu  +1 401 863 3215 Assistant Professor Molecular Biology, Cell Biology and Biochemistry DNA repair in cells

de Graffenried, Christopher

Read Profile
Christopher_DeGraffenried@brown.edu +1 401 863 9585

Assistant Professor Molecular Microbiology & Immunology Replication of the cytoskeleton in Trypanosoma brucei.

Delaney, Sarah

Read Profile
Sarah_Delaney@brown.edu
+1401 863 3590

Associate Professor Chemistry DNA damage and repair

DeLong, Alison

Read profile
Alison_DeLong@Brown.edu
+1 401 863 3888

Associate Professor Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, and Biochemistry Protein dephosphorylation and regulation of plant growth

Dunn, Casey

Read profile
Visit website
Casey_Dunn@brown.edu
+1 401 863 9806

Assistant Professor Ecology & Evolutionary Biology How evolution has produced a diversity of life

Fallon, Justin

Read profile
Visit lab website
Justin_Fallon@Brown.edu
+1 401 863 9308

Professor Neuroscience Regulation of synapse formation and plasticity; muscular dystrophies and ALS

Fairbrother, Will

Read profile
Visit website
William_Fairbrother@Brown.edu
+1 401 863 6215

Associate Professor Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, and Biochemistry Developing high- throughput genomic techniques to identify functional cis-elements in the genome

Fawzi, Nicolas

Nicolas_Fawzi@brown.edu

Assistant Professor Molecular Pharmacology, Physiology and Biotechnology Structure, dynamics and molecular interactions of protein aggregates implicated in Alzheimer's Disease and diabetes

Freiman, Richard

Read Profile
Richard_Freiman@brown.edu
+1 401 863 9633

Associate Professor Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, and Biochemistry Chromatin and transcriptional control; regulation of tissue specific gene expression in the mouse reproductive system

Gerbi, Susan

Read profile
Visit website
Susan_Gerbi@Brown.edu
+1 401 863 2359 

Professor
Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, and Biochemistry RNA-RNA interactions (rRNA, U3 snRNA, 7SL of SRP); chromosome structure and DNA replication; molecular evolution

Gruppuso, Philip

Read profile
Philip_Gruppuso@Brown.edu
+1 401 863 1618

Professor (Research)
Pediatrics; Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, and Biochemistry (Research Appt) Regulation of fetal hepatic growth

Hart, Anne

Read Profile
Anne_Hart@brown.edu
+1 401 863 2822

 

Professor Neuroscience Neurodegenerative disease, sleep and stress

Hawrot, Edward

Read profile
Edward_Hawrot@Brown.edu
+1 401 863 1034

Alva O. Way University Professor of Medical Science Molecular Pharmacology,
Physiology and Biotechnology
Structure and function of acetylcholine receptors and of protein neurotoxins

Helfand, Stephen

Read profile
Stephen_Helfand@brown.edu

Professor Molecular, Cellular Biology, and Biochemistry Genetics and genomics of aging in Drosophila

Horb, Marko

Visit Horb website
mhorb@mbl.edu
+1 508 289 7627

Associate Scientist, Marine Biological Laboratory, Woods Hole Molecular, Cell Biology and Biochemistry Xenopus molecular embryology

Jamieson, Amanda

Read Profile                                                Amanda_Jamieson@brown.edu                 +1 401 863 6158

Assistant Professor Molecular Microbiology and Immunology Understanding infectious and non-infectious diseases of the lung

Jaworski, Alexander

Read profile
Alexander_Jaworski@brown.edu
+1 401 863 1963

Assistant Professor Neuroscience Molecular and cellular mechanisms of brain wiring

Jogl, Gerwald
Read profile
 Gerwald_Jogl@brown.edu
+1 401 863 6123 

Associate Professor
Molecular, Cellular Biology, and Biochemistry
Structure and function of the ribosome

Johnson, Mark

Read profile
Visit Lab website
Mark_Johnson_1@brown.edu
+1 401 863 3556 

Associate Professor Molecular, Cellular Biology, and Biochemistry Molecular genetic analysis of plant reproductive development: Mechanisms of targeted pollen tube growth in Arabidopsis

Kaun, Karla

Read profile
Karla_Kaun@brown.edu
+1 401 863 5825

Assistant Professor Neuroscience Neural and molecular mechanisms of addiction using Drosophila

Koren, Gideon

Read profile
Gideon_Koren@brown.edu
+1 401 444 4629

Professor Medicine Voltage-gated K+ channels

Landy, Arthur

Read profile
Arthur_Landy@Brown.edu
+1 401 863 2571 

Professor
Molecular, Cellular Biology, and Biochemistry
Mechanism of site-specific recombination; protein-DNA interactions; structure of higher-order protein-DNA complexes

Larschan, Erica

Read Profile
Erica_Larschan@brown.edu
+1 401 863 1070

Assistant Professor Molecular Biology, Cell Biology and Biochemistry How genes are identified for coordinate regulation; genomic, genetic and biochemical approaches to define how domains of active transcription are formed

Lawrence, Charles

Read profile
Visit lab website
Charles_Lawrence@brown.edu
+1 401 863 1479 
+1 401 863 2351 

Professor
Applied Mathematics
Computational molecular biology; Bioinformatic identification of regulatory elements in DNA

Lipscombe, Diane


Read profile
Visit lab website
Diane_Lipscombe@Brown.edu
+1 401 863 1092 

Professor
Neuroscience
Regulation of voltage-gated Ca channel activity in the nervous system by alternative splicing

Mark Welch, David

View lab website
David_Mark_Welch@brown.edu
+1 508 289 7377

Associate Professor and Associate Scientist
(Marine Biological Laboratory)
Molecular, Cellular Biology, and Biochemistry Comparative genomics of aging and DNA damage repair

Morrow, Eric

Read profile
eric_morrow@brown.edu
+ 1 401 863 9778 

Assistant Professor
Molecular, Cellular Biology, and Biochemistry
Genetics of cognitive development

Mowry, Kimberly

Read Profile
Visit Lab website
Kimberly_Mowry@Brown.EDU
+1 401 863 3636 

Professor
Molecular, Cellular Biology, and Biochemistry
Developmental polarity, oogenesis, post-transcriptional regulation

Neretti, Nicola

Read Profile
Nicola_Neretti@brown.edu
+1 401 863 6702

Assistant Professor Molecular, Cell Biology, Biochemistry Genomics, computational biology, bioinformatics and aging

Nillni, Eduardo A.

Read Profile
Visit website
Eduardo_Nillni@Brown.EDU
+1 401 444 5733 

Professor
Medicine; Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, Biochemistry
Obesity-biology of hypothalamic neuropeptides involved in the regulation of energy balance and thyroid function

Oancea, Elena

Read profile
Elena_Oancea@brown.edu
+1 401 863 6116 

Assistant Professor 
Molecular Pharmacology, Physiology, and Biotechnology
Understanding signal transduction events using fluorescent microscopy in living cells

Padbury, James

Read Profile
James_Padbury@brown.edu
+1 401 274 5983

Professor Pediatrics Developmental regulation of genes involved in the growth and function of the developing heart and placenta

Page, Rebecca

Read profile
Visit Lab website
Rebecca_Page@brown.edu 

Associate Professor
Molecular, Cellular Biology, and Biochemistry
Molecular basis of phosphorylation signaling in eukaryotes and biofilms and antibiotic resistance in bacteria integrating multiple techniques, but especially biochemistry and structural biology

Peti, Wolfgang

Read profile
View lab website
Wolfgang_Peti@brown.edu
+1 401 863 6084 

Associate Professor
Molecular Pharmacology, Physiology, and Biotechnology
Structure, dynamics and interactions of signaling proteins involved in cancer and neurological diseases using NMR spectroscopy

Rand, David

Read Profile
Visit website
David_Rand@Brown.EDU
+1 401 863 2890

Professor Ecology and Evolutionary Biology Population and evolutionary genetics; functional genomics; co-evolution of nuclear and mitochondrial genomes; mitochondrial genetics of fitness, aging and disease; marine evolutionary genetics

Raphael, Benjamin

Read profile
Visit lab website
Benjamin_Raphael@brown.edu
+1 401 863 7643 

Assistant Professor Computer Science
Genome rearrangements in cancer and evolution

Reenan, Robert

Read profile
Robert_Reenan@brown.edu
+1 401 863 6353

Professor Molecular, Cellular Biology, and Biochemistry Evolution of brain function and behavior

Salomon, Arthur

Read profile
View lab website
Arthur_Salomon@brown.edu
+1 401 863 6091

Associate Professor Molecular, Cellular Biology, and Biochemistry T cell signaling networks, mass spectrometry, and proteomics

Sedivy, John

Read profile
John_Sedivy@Brown.EDU
+1 401 863 7631

Hermon C. Bumpus Professor Molecular, Cellular Biology, and Biochemistry Biology of aging, cellular senescence, epigenetic regulation, genome-wide profiling of chromatin, retrotransposition, mouse models of longevity

Sello, Jason

Read Profile                                                    Jason_Sello@brown.edu                             +401 863 1194

Associate Professor Chemistry Approaches to antibacterial therapy and biofuel production inspired by Streptomyces bacteria

Sharma, Surendra

Read Profile
Surendra_Sharma@brown.edu
+1 401 277 3618

Professor (Research)
Pediatrics Cytokines and viruses in B-cell growth.

Sogin, Mitchell

View website
Mitchell_Sogin@brown.edu
+1 508 289 7246

Professor (Mbl) Molecular, Cellular Biology, and Biochemistry Evolution of the Protists, molecular microbial ecology

Tatar, Marc

Read Profile
Marc_Tatar@Brown.EDU
+1 401 863 3455

Professor Ecology and Evolutionary Biology Demography, evolution and genetics of aging.

Wands, Jack

Read Profile
Visit research center website
Jack_Wands_MD@Brown.edu
+1 401 444 2795

Professor
Director, Liver Research Center
Medicine, Molecular Microbiology and Immunology
Molecular biology of liver disease; alcohol effects on the liver

Weinreich, Daniel

Read Profile
Visit lab website
Daniel_Weinreich@brown.edu
+1 401 863 3937

Assistant Professor Ecology and Evolutionary Biology How genetic novelty fuels evolution by natural selection

Wessel, Gary

Read Profile
Visit lab website
Gary_Wessel@Brown.edu
+1 401 863 1051

Professor Molecular, Cellular Biology, and Biochemistry
Cell and molecular biology of fertilization, and germ-line determination

Wharton, Kristi

Read Profile
Visit lab website
Kristi_Wharton@Brown.edu
+1 401 863 1951

Professor Molecular, Cellular Biology, and Biochemistry Role of growth factors and signal transduction in cell fate determination and differentiation during development; Drosophila developmental genetics

Zhitkovich, Anatoly

Read Profile
Anatoly_Zhitkovich@Brown.EDU
+1 401 863 2912

Professor Pathology and Laboratory Medicine DNA repair and biological responses to DNA damage