Faculty and Staff

Center for BME Leadership

Jeffrey R. Morgan, Co-Director, Center for Biomedical Engineering
Anubhav Tripathi
, Co-Director, Center for Biomedical Engineering
Eric M. Darling, Graduate Program Director
Jacquelyn Schell, Masters Program Director
Sean Deoni/Anubhav Tripathi, Undergraduate Program Director
Anita Shukla, BME Honors Committee Chair
Beth Zielinski, Director of Industry Outreach


Staff

Jessica Bello
Program Administrator
Jessica_Bello@brown.edu

Michael Barr
Website Designer
Michael_Barr@brown.edu


Program Faculty

Neuroengineering


Primary Faculty

David Borton, Ph.D., Assistant Professor
School of Engineering

Sean Deoni, Ph.D., Assistant Professor
School of Engineering
Sean_C_Deoni@brown.edu
Lab website 

Leigh Hochberg, M.D., Ph.D., Associate Professor
School of Engineering
Leigh_Hochberg@brown.edu
Lab Website

Arto V. Nurmikko, Ph.D., L. Herbert Ballou University Professor
School of Engineering and Department of Physics
Arto_Nurmikko@brown.edu
Lab Website

James A. Simmons, Ph.D., Professor
Department of Neuroscience
James_Simmons@brown.edu
Lab Website


Biosensors and Bioplatforms


Primary Faculty

Jerry Daniels, Ph.D., Associate Professor
School of Engineering
Jerry_Daniels@brown.edu

G. Tayhas R. Palmore, Ph.D., Professor
School of Engineering
Tayhas_Palmore@brown.edu

Anubhav Tripathi, Ph.D., Professor
Co-Director, Center for Biomedical Engineering

School of Engineering
Anubhav_Tripathi@brown.edu
Lab Website

Ian Wong, Ph.D., Assistant Professor
School of Engineering

Lab Website


Affiliated Faculty

Robert Hurt, Ph.D., Professor
School of Engineering
Robert_Hurt@brown.edu
Lab Website

Domenico Pacifici, Ph.D., Assistant Professor
School of Engineering
Domenico_Pacifici@brown.edu
Lab Website

Jacob Rosenstein, Ph.D., Assistant Professor
School of Engineering
Jacob_Rosenstein@brown.edu 

Jimmy M. Xu, Ph.D., The Charles C. Tillinghast Jr. '32 University Professor
School of Engineering and Department of Physics
Jingming_Xu@brown.edu
Lab Website


Mechanobiology


Primary Faculty

Kenneth S. Breuer, Ph.D., Professor
School of Engineering
Kenneth_Breuer@brown.edu
Lab Website

Kareen Coulombe, Ph.D., Assistant Professor
School of Engineering
Kareen_Coulombe@brown.edu 

Joseph J. (Trey) Crisco, III, Ph.D., Henry Frederick Lippitt Professor, Orthopaedics
Department of Orthopaedics, The Warren Alpert Medical School of Brown University, Rhode Island Hospital
Joseph_Crisco@brown.edu
Lab Website

Eric M. Darling, Ph.D., Manning Assistant Professor
Graduate Program Director
Department of Molecular Pharmacology, Physiology, and Biotechnology
Eric_Darling@brown.edu
Lab Website

Christian Franck, Ph.D., Assistant Professor
School of Engineering
Christian_Franck@brown.edu
Lab Website

Karen Haberstroh, Ph.D, Assistant Professor (Research)
Undergraduate Program Director

Director of STEM Outreach
Karen_Haberstroh@brown.edu

Diane Hoffman-Kim, Ph.D., Associate Professor
Department of Molecular Pharmacology, Physiology, and Biotechnology
Diane_Hoffman-Kim@brown.edu
Lab Website

Gregory D. Jay, M.D., Ph.D., Professor
Department of Emergency Medicine and Department of Medicine, The Warren Alpert Medical School at Brown University, Rhode Island Hospital
Gregory_Jay_MD@brown.edu

Edith Mathiowitz, Ph.D., Professor
Department of Molecular Pharmacology, Physiology, and Biotechnology
Edith_Mathiowitz@brown.edu

Jeffrey R. Morgan, Ph.D., Associate Professor
Co-Director, Center for Biomedical Engineering

Department of Molecular Pharmacology, Physiology, and Biotechnology
Jeffrey_Morgan@brown.edu

Anita Shukla, Ph.D., Assistant Professor
Honors Thesis Advisor
School of Engineering
Anita_Shukla@brown.edu
Lab website

Ian Wong, Ph.D., Assistant Professor
School of Engineering

Lab Website

Beth Zielinski, Ph.D., Lecturer
Director of Industry Outreach
Department of Molecular Pharmacology, Physiology, and Biotechnology
Beth_Anne_Zielinski@brown.edu


Affiliated Faculty

Huajian Gao, Ph.D., Walter H. Annenberg Professor
School of Engineering
Huajian_Gao@brown.edu
Lab Website

Thomas Roberts, Ph.D., Associate Professor
Department of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
Thomas_Roberts@brown.edu
Lab Website

Sharon Swartz, Ph.D., Professor
Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
Sharon_Swartz@brown.edu
Lab Website

Jay Tang, Ph.D., Associate Professor
Department of Physics
Jay_Tang@brown.edu
Lab Website


Tissue Engineering/Regenerative Medicine


Primary Faculty 

Eric M. Darling, Ph.D., Manning Assistant Professor
Graduate Program Director
Department of Molecular Pharmacology, Physiology and Biotechnology
Eric_Darling@brown.edu
Lab Website

Braden C. Fleming, Ph.D., Lucy Lippitt Professor, Orthopaedics
Department of Orthopaedics, The Warren Alpert Medical School of Brown University, Rhode Island Hospital
Braden_Fleming@brown.edu
Lab Website

Diane Hoffman-Kim, Ph.D., Associate Professor
Department of Molecular Pharmacology, Physiology, and Biotechnology
Diane_Hoffman-Kim@brown.edu
Lab Website

Kareen Coulombe, Ph.D., Assistant Professor
School of Engineering
Kareen_Coulombe@brown.edu 

Edith Mathiowitz, Ph.D., Professor
Department of Molecular Pharmacology, Physiology, and Biotechnology
Edith_Mathiowitz@brown.edu  

Jeffrey R. Morgan, Ph.D., Associate Professor
Co-Director, Center for Biomedical Engineering

Department of Molecular Pharmacology, Physiology, and Biotechnology
Jeffrey_Morgan@brown.edu

Jacquelyn Schell, Ph.D., Assistant Professor (Research)
Masters Program Director
Department of Molecular Pharmacology, Physiology, and Biotechnology
Jacquelyn_Schell@brown.edu

Anita Shukla, Ph.D., Assistant Professor
Honors Thesis Advisor
School of Engineering
Anita_Shukla@brown.edu
Lab website

Ian Wong, Ph.D., Assistant Professor
School of Engineering

Lab Website

Beth Zielinski, Ph.D., Lecturer
Director of Industry Outreach
Department of Molecular Pharmacology, Physiology, and Biotechnology
Beth_Anne_Zielinski@brown.edu 


Affiliated Faculty

Roy K. Aaron, M.D., Professor, Orthopedic Surgery
Director, Orthopedic Program in Clinical/Translational Research
Director, Orthopedic Cell Biology Laboratory
Warren Alpert Medical School of Brown University
Roy_Aaron@brown.edu
Lab Website

Bahar Bilgen, Ph.D., Assistant Professor (Research)
Department of Orthopedics, The Warren Alpert Medical School at Brown University, Rhode Island Hospital
Investigator, Providence VA Medical Center 
Bahar_Bilgen@brown.edu
Lab Website

Qian Chen, Ph.D., Michael G. Ehrlich, MD Professor, Orthopaedics
Department of Orthopaedics, The Warren Alpert Medical School of Brown University, Rhode Island Hospital
Qian_chen@brown.edu
Lab Website

Deborah McK. Ciombor, Ph.D., Associate Professor
Department of Plastic Surgery, The Warren Alpert Medical School of Brown University, Rhode Island Hospital
Deborah_Ciombor@brown.edu

Robbert Creton, Ph.D., Associate Professor (Research)
Department of Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, & Biochemistry
Robbert_Creton@brown.edu
Lab Website

Susan D'Andrea, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Orthopaedics
Director, The Gait and Motion Analysis Laboratory
Brown/VA Center for Restorative and Regenerative Medicine
Susan_DAndrea@brown.edu

William Fairbrother, Ph.D., Associate Professor
Department of Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, & Biochemistry
William_Fairbrother@brown.edu
Lab Website 

Nicolas L. Fawzi, Ph.D., Assistant Professor
Department of Molecular Pharmacology, Physiology, and Biotechnology
Nicolas_Fawzi@brown.edu

Amanda Jamieson, Ph.D., Assistant Professor
Department of Molecular Microbiology and Immunology
Amanda_Jamieson@brown.edu 

Agnes Kane, Ph.D., Professor
Department of Pathology & Laboratory Medicine
Institute for Molecular and Nanoscale Innovation
Agnes_Kane@brown.edu

Gideon Koren, M.D., Professor, Cardiovascular Research
Department of Medicine, Brown University
Gideon_Koren@brown.edu
Lab Website

Ulrike Mende, M.D., Associate Professor, Cardiovascular Research
Department of Medicine, Brown University
Ulrike_Mende@brown.edu
Lab Website

Derek Merck, Ph.D., Assistant Professor (Research)
Director, Computer Vision and Image Analysis Research
Department of Diagnostic Imaging, The Warren Alpert Medical School of Brown University, Rhode Island Hospital
Derek_Merck@brown.edu 

Wolfgang Peti, Ph.D., Associate Professor
Department of Molecular Pharmacology, Physiology, and Biotechnology
Wolfgang_Peti@brown.edu
Lab Website