Undergraduate researchers present at Summer Research Symposium

Each summer at Brown, undergraduate researchers in the humanities, life sciences, social sciences, and physical sciences have the opportunity to present posters at the Summer Research Symposium. This year, 11 students from the Chemistry Department displayed their posters to hundreds of visitors. The students represent a range of fields in chemistry, from nanoscale materials to DNA repair.

(Distributed August 12, 2014)

From the Lai-Sheng Wang Lab: "Borospherene"


"The discovery of buckyballs — soccer-ball-shaped molecules of carbon — helped usher in the nanotechnology era. Now, Lai-Sheng Wang’s research group and colleagues from China have shown that boron, carbon’s neighbor on the periodic table, can form a cage-like molecule similar to the buckyball. Until now, such a boron structure had only been a theoretical speculation. The researchers dubbed their newfound nanostructure 'borospherene.'"

Click here to read the full press release.

(Distributed July 14, 2014)

Department reaches out to local elementary school

Prof. Wes Bernskoetter and two chemical physics concentrators engaged young minds in chemistry at a science conference held at Vartan Gregorian Elementary School in Providence on June 11, 2014. 
Click on images to enlarge them.

(Distributed June 12, 2014)

2014 Potter Prize and Elaine Chase Leadership & Service Award recipients announced

In addition to celebrating their newly conferred Doctor of Philosophy degrees in chemistry, four graduate students received distinguished departmental awards: the Potter Prize and the Elaine Chase Leadership & Service Award.


 Graduate students completing Ph.D. theses judged to be of outstanding merit are eligible for the Potter Prize. This prize is awarded annually to the most exceptional chemistry PhD dissertation as judged by a faculty committee. ($2,500).  

(Distributed May 29, 2014)

Graduate student Huiyuan Zhu receives Chinese Government Award for Outstanding Students Abroad

The Chinese Government Award for Outstanding Students Abroad is a scholarship set up by the China Scholarship Council (CSC) to honor overseas Chinese students with outstanding academic accomplishments. Established in 2003, this award is developed to encourage research excellence and to recognize the achievements among Chinese students abroad. This award includes a 6,000-U.S.-dollar prize and a CSC-issued certificate. Recipients will be honored at an awards ceremony in May.

Congratulations Huiyuan!

(Distributed April 15, 2014)
Syndicate content Subscribe via RSS feed