FACULTY RESEARCH INTERESTS

Susan Alcock

Professor of Classics, Joukowsky Family Professor in Archaeology, Director of Joukowsky Institute for Archaeology and the Ancient World 
Hellenistic and Roman Eastern Mediterranean Landscape Archaeology; Archaeologies of Imperialism; Archaeologies of Memory
Susan_Alcock@brown.edu

Elsa Amanatidou

Senior Lecturer, Modern Greek Studies. Director, Center for Language Studies
MFL Pedagogy; Integration of Culture; Strategies of Delivery and Assessment; Educational Technologies
Elsa_Amanatidou@brown.edu

John Bodel

W. Duncan MacMillan II Professor of Classics and Professor of History 
Roman History, Literature, and Epigraphy (especially of the Empire)
John_Bodel@brown.edu

David Buchta
Lecturer in Sanskrit
Sanskrit Literature; particularly Poetics, Grammar, and Late Medieval Religious Literature 
David_Buchta@brown.edu  

John Cherry

Joukowsky Family Professor in Archaeology and Professor of Classics
Mediterranean Prehistory; Caribbean Archaeology; Alexander the Great and his Nachleben
John_Cherry@brown.edu

Jeri Debrohun

Associate Professor of Classics, Department Chair
Latin Poetry of the Republic and Early Empire
Jeri_DeBrohun@brown.edu

James Fitzgerald

St. Purandara Das Distinguished Professor / Faculty Affiliate in Religious Studies
Sanskrit Literature, particularly Mah bh rata and related philosophical and religious literature
James_Fitzgerald@brown.edu

Mary Louise Gill

Professor of Philosophy and Classics
Ancient Greek Philosophy; Ancient Science
Mary_Louise_Gill@brown.edu

Johanna Hanink

Assistant Professor of Classics
Greek Literature and Cultural History
Johanna_Hanink@brown.edu

Kenneth Haynes

Associate Professor of Comparative Literature and Classics
Greek and Roman Literature; Classical Reception
Kenneth_Haynes@brown.edu

Stephen Kidd
Assistant Professor of  Classics
Greek Comedy; Play in Greek Culture

Lisa Mignone

Assistant Professor of Classics
Ancient History and Historiography; Latin Literature; Ancient Geography and Topography
Lisa_Mignone@brown.edu

Pura Nieto Hernandez

Senior Lecturer in Classics
Greek Language and Literature
Pura_Nieto_Hernandez@brown.edu

Graham Oliver
Professor of Classics
Greek History; Ancient economies; Greek Epigraphy; Reception of Ancient Greece

Stratis Papaioannou

Associate Professor of Classics,  Director of Graduate Studies
Byzantine Literature; Greek Palaeography; Rhetoric
sp@brown.edu

Joseph Pucci

Associate Professor of Classics and in the Program in Medieval Studies and Associate Professor of Comparative Literature, Concentrator Advisor
Late and Medieval Latin; Comparative Literary History; Biography; the American Presidency
Joseph_Pucci@brown.edu

Joseph D. Reed

Professor of Classics
Hellenistic Poetry; Latin Poetry; Myth and Cult of Adonis
Jay_Reed@brown.edu

Kenneth S. Sacks
Professor of History and Classics
Greek History; Hellenistic Intellectual History; American Transcendentalism
Kenneth_Sacks@brown.edu 

Adele Scafuro

Professor of Classics
Greek Legal, Social, and Cultural History; Greek Epigraphy; Classical Greek and Roman Republican Literature
Adele_Scafuro@brown.edu