Faculty Advisors for Study Abroad

Unless otherwise noted, students should email the faculty member to set-up an appointment.

Africana Studies
Lundy Braun, Lundy_Braun@brown.edu

American Civilization
Beverly Haviland, Beverly_Haviland@Brown.edu

Anthropology
William Simmons, William_Simmons@brown.edu

Contact department for office hours.
To be approved by Anthro, courses must 1) have primarily anthro content, and 2) be offered in an Antro dept. or by an anthropologist in anther dept.

Applied Mathematics
Govind Menon, Govind_Menon@brown.edu
Hongjie Dong, Hongjie_Dong@brown.edu " rel="nofollow">Hongjie_Dong@brown.edu

Archaeology & the Ancient World
Susan E. Alcock, Susan_Alcock@brown.edu

Architectural Studies
See History of Art and Architecture (below)

Biology & Medicine
Marjorie Thompson, Marjorie_Thompson@brown.edu

Contact Prof. Thompson’s assistant, Joan Fullerton (x 3-3133) for an appointment.

Business, Entrepreneurship and Organizations (BEO)
Concentrators should meet with their track advisors. Please see BEO website for advisor contact details and office hours.  

Chemistry
Amit Basu, Amit_Basu@brown.edu

Classics
Joseph Pucci, Joseph_Pucci@brown.edu

Cognitive Neuroscience
William Heindel, William_Heindel@brown.edu

Cognitive Science
David Sobel, David_Sobel_1@brown.edu

Community Health
William Rakowski, William_Rakowski@Brown.EDU

Contact department for office hours.

Comparative Literature
Concentrators should see their own advisors.  Non-concentrators can meet with Stephanie Merrim, stephanie_merrim@brown.edu.

Computer Science
Students should meet with their concentration advisors

Development Studies
Jennifer Costanza, Jennifer_Costanza@brown.edu

Students seeking graduation credit for classes in this area should first see appropriate alternate departments (i.e. Environmental Studies, Africana Studies, etc).

East Asian Studies
Yuko Jackson (Japanese), Yuko_Jackson@Brown.edu
Lung-Hua Hu (Chinese), Lung-Hua_Hu@brown.edu
Hye-Sook Wang (Korea), Hye-Sook_Wang@Brown.edu

Contact department for office hours.

Economics
Susanne Schennach, Susanne_Schennach@brown.edu

Students seeking approval for courses in business, management, marketing, and similar topics should speak with COE. 

Education
Luther Spoehr, Luther_Spoehr@brown.edu

Contact department for office hours.

Engineering
Joseph T. C. Liu, Joseph_Liu@brown.edu

English & American Literature
Stephen Foley, Stephen_Foley@brown.edu

Contact department for office hours.

Environmental Studies
Kurt Teichert, Kurt_Teichert@brown.edu

Contact department for office hours.

French Studies
Virginia Krause, Virginia_Krause@brown.edu

Gender Studies
Debbie Weinstein, Debbie_Weinstein@brown.edu

Geological Sciences
Jan Tullis, Jan_Tullis@brown.edu

German Studies
Jane Sokolosky, Jane_Sokolosky@brown.edu (Fall semester)
Kristina Mendicino, Kristina_Mendicino@brown.edu (Spring semester)

Hindi & Urdu
Ashok Koul, Ashok_Koul@Brown.edu

Hispanic Studies
Beth Bauer, Beth_Bauer@brown.edu (students with last names A-M)
Victoria Smith, Victoria_Smith@brown.edu (students with last names N-Z, Fall Semester)
Aldo Mazzucchelli, Aldo_Mazzucchelli@brown.edu (students with last names N-Z, Spring Semester)

Contact department for office hours.

History
Robert Douglas Cope, robert_cope@Brown.edu

Contact department for office hours.

History of Art & Architecture
Jeffry Muller, Jeffrey_Muller@brown.edu

Contact department for office hours.

International Relations
Students seeking graduation credit for classes in this area should first see appropriate alternate departments (i.e. Political Science, History, etc).

Italian Language Studies
Cristina Abbona-Sneider, Cristina_Abbona@Brown.edu

Judaic Studies
Adam Teller, Adam_Teller@brown.edu

Languages (not taught at Brown)
Elsa Amanatidou, Elsa_Amanatidou@brown.edu 

Latin American Studies
Richard Snyder, Richard_Snyder@brown.edu

Contact department for office hours.

Linguistics
Pauline Jacobson, Pauline_Jacobson@brown.edu

Mathematics
Rich Schwartz, Richard_Schwartz@brown.edu

Contact department for office hours.

Medieval Studies
Mercedes Vaquero, Mercedes_Vaquero@brown.edu

Contact department for office hours.

Modern Culture & Media
Joshua Neves, Joshua_Neves@brown.edu

Modern Greek
Elsa Amanatidou, elsa_amanatidou@brown.edu

Music
Matthew McGarrell, Matthew_McGarrell@brown.edu

Contact department for office hours.

Philosophy
Justin Broackes, Justin_Broackes@brown.edu

Contact department for office hours.

Physics
See-Chen Ying, See-Chen_Ying@brown.edu

Political Science
Students may see any member of the undergrad committee during their regular office hours. 

Portuguese & Brazilian Studies
Luiz Valente, Luiz_Valente@Brown.edu (Brazil)
Patricia Sobral, Patricia_Sobral@Brown.edu

Contact department for office hours.

Psychology
Jack Wright, Jack_Wright@Brown.edu

Contact department for office hours.

Public Policy
Ross Cheit, Ross_Cheit@brown.edu

Religious Studies
Thomas Lewis, Thomas_Lewis@brown.edu

Contact department for office hours.

Slavic Languages
Alexander Levitsky, Alexander_Levitsky@brown.edu (all areas)
Lynne deBenedette, Lynne_deBenedette@brown (Russia)
Masako Fidler,Masako_Fidler@Brown.edu (Czech Republic)

Sociology
Michael Kennedy, Michael_Kennedy@brown.edu
Carrie Spearin, Carrie_Spearin@brown.edu

Theatre Arts and Performance Studies
Erik Ehn, Erik_Ehn@brown.edu

Urban Studies
Howard Chudacoff, Howard_Chudacoff@brown.edu

Contact department for office hours.

Visual Arts
Wendy Edwards, Wendy_Edwards@brown.edu (Fall Semester)
Leslie Bostrom, Leslie_Bostrom@brown.edu (Spring Semester)