Faculty

Faculty

Mark Bertness

(Lab website)

Problems in the population and community ecology of marine plants and animals.
Mark_Bertness@brown.edu

Elizabeth Brainerd

(Lab website)

Department Vice Chair
Functional morphology, comparative physiology, and biomechanics
Elizabeth_Brainerd@brown.edu

Casey W. Dunn

(Lab website)

Evolutionary developmental biology of animals and phylogenetics.
Casey_Dunn@brown.edu

Erika J.  Edwards

(Lab website)

Understanding the functional and ecological diversity of vascular plants from an evolutionary perspective.
Erika_Edwards@brown.edu

Stephen M. Gatesy

Functional morphology, the evolution of the vertebrate locomotor system.
Stephen_Gatesy@brown.edu

Christine M. Janis

Vertebrate evolution (especially Cenozoic mammals), craniodental functional morphology, mammalian systematics (especially ungulates).
Christine_Janis@brown.edu

James Kellner
Structure and dynamics of tropical forests, environmental remote sensing. James_R_Kellner@brown.edu

Heather Leslie

(Lab website)

Ecology and conservation science of coastal and marine systems
Heather_Leslie@brown.edu

Douglass H. Morse

Behavioral ecology: foraging, life history variables, and sexual selection.
D_Morse@brown.edu

Stephen Porder
(Lab website)

Graduate Program Co-Director
Biogeochemistry, nutrient cycling in tropical forests, interaction between geologic and ecological processes.
Stephen_Porder@brown.edu


Sohini Ramachandran
(Lab website)

Population genetics and evolutionary theory, applied to human genetic variation
Sohini_Ramachandran@brown.edu

David M. Rand

Department Chairman
Molecular ecology and evolution, coevolution of nuclear and mitochondrial genomes, and speciation.
David_Rand@brown.edu

Jeremy Rich

Microbial ecology and biogeochemistry.
Jeremy_Rich@brown.edu

Thomas J. Roberts

(Lab website)

Biomechanics and energetics of vertebrate movement.
Thomas_Roberts@brown.edu

Dov Sax

(Lab website)

Species invasions of non-native plants and animals; Evaluating conservation strategies best suited to preserving biodiversity from the novel threats posed by climate change.
Dov_Sax@brown.edu

Kate Smith

(Lab website)

Conservation Medicine; Disease Ecology; Biogeography; Global Environmental Change.
Katherine_Smith@brown.edu

Sharon Swartz
(Lab website)

Biomechanics, functional morphology, and the evolution of vertebrate limbs.
Sharon_Swartz@brown.edu

Marc Tatar

Life history evolution with an emphasis on Senescence.
Marc_Tatar@brown.edu

Daniel M. Weinreich

Graduate Program Co-Director
Darwinian evolution at the level of individual mutations within protein coding genes.
Daniel_Weinreich@brown.edu

Timothy Whitfeld
Herbarium Collections Manager and Assistant Professor (Research)
Timothy_Whitfeld@brown.edu

Jon D. Witman

Population and community ecology, oceanography, and marine biology.
Jon_Witman@brown.edu

 

Brown/MBL Faculty

Linda Amaral Zettler

Applications of rRNA eukaryotic fluorescently lableled oligonucleotide probes using marine protists.

Linda Deegan

Research is driven by a desire to understand the relationship between ecosystem dynamics and animal populations.

Hugh Ducklow

Marine microbial ecology and biogeochemistry; ecosystem response to climate change; Antarctic marine ecology.

Anne Giblin

Roger T. Hanlon

Research focuses on the principles of animal camouflage and visual signaling in marine and terrestrial habitats.

John Hobbie

Research as an aquatic ecologist has attempted to identify the factors controlling decomposition and productivity within aquatic ecosytems. I am primarily interested in the role natural assemblages of microbes play in ecosystems.

Julie Huber

Research focuses on marine microbial ecology, with an emphasis on deep-sea hydrothermal vents and crustal habitats, using molecular- and cultivation-based methods.

David Mark Welch

Molecular evolution and genetics and includes examination of patterns and processes of sequence evolution.

Jerry Melillo

Interested in how human activities are altering the biogeochemistry of terrestrial ecosystems.

 

Christopher Neill

Research focuses on understanding how changes in land use and other human activities alter the structure of ecosystems and the ways that ecosystems cycle nutrients and organic matter.

Edward Rastetter

Interested in ecosystem stoichiometry, particularly the constraints imposed by carbon-nutrient interactions on ecosystem productivity and carbon accumulation

Gaius Shaver

Interested in plant growth and nutrition, and in the role of plants in ecosystem element cycles.

Sheri Simmons

My research uses a combination of manipulative experiments on microbial communities and high-throughput sequencing to interrogate the evolutionary dynamics and ecological significance of naturally occurring genetic variation. Current projects include using microbes on leaf surfaces as a model for community dynamics, coupled genetic/functional/taxonomic diversity of microbes in agricultural soils, and environmental Pseudomonas species as models for measuring horizontal gene transfer.

Jianwu (Jim) Tang

Interested in terrestrial ecosystem ecology, soil biogeochemistry, and global change ecology, with a focus on ecosystem carbon and nitrogen cycles.

Joseph Vallino

Research interests focus on modeling and experimental investigation of microbial dynamics related to the processing of inorganic and organic material in aquatic and marine ecosystems, with a primary focus on estuarine and coastal systems.