Brown University School of Engineering

Chemical and Biochemical Engineering Faculty

Chemical and Biochemical ENGINEERING Faculty
C. Franklin Goldsmith
Ph.D. M.I.T.
Assistant Professor
Franklin_Goldsmith@brown.edu
Combustion chemistry, catalysis, electronic structure methods, computational kinetics
Robert Hurt
Ph.D. M.I.T.
Professor
Robert_Hurt@brown.edu
Laboratory for Environmental and Health Nanoscience (LEHN)
Carbon materials, mesogenic materials, nanotoxicology, nanomaterials in the environment, graphene-based materials
(see also Biomedical Engineering Faculty, Environmental Engineering Faculty, Materials Engineering Faculty) 
G. Tayhas Palmore
Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Professor of Engineering and Medical Science; Professor of Chemistry
Tayhas_Palmore@Brown.EDU
Electrochemical energy conversion, biochemical sensing
(see also Biomedical Engineering Faculty, Environmental Engineering Faculty, Materials Engineering Faculty)  
Andrew Peterson
Ph.D., M.I.T.
Assistant Professor
Andrew_Peterson@brown.edu
Catalyst Design Lab
Heterogeneous catalysis, electronic structure theory, sustainable fuels
(see also Environmental Engineering Faculty)  
Brian Sheldon
Sc.D., M.I.T.
Professor
Brian_Sheldon@brown.edu
Carbon materials, chemical vapor deposition, composites, battery technologies
(see also Materials Engineering Faculty)  
Anita Shukla 
Ph.D., M.I.T.
Assistant Professor 
Anita_Shukla@brown.edu
Shukla Lab for Designer Biomaterials
Biomaterials, self-assembly, drug delivery, regenerative medicine.
(see also Biomedical Engineering Faculty, Materials Engineering Faculty) 
Eric Suuberg
Sc.D., M.I.T.
Professor; Associate Director, Brown Superfund Program; Co-Director, PRIME Program
Eric_Suuberg@Brown.EDU
Suuberg Laboratory
Kinetics, combustion, carbons, energy/environmental issues
(see also Civil Engineering Faculty, Environmental Engineering Faculty 
Anubhav Tripathi
Ph.D., City University of New York
Associate Professor
Anubhav_Tripathi@brown.edu
Biomedical Engineering Laboratory
Understanding complex biomaterials using microfluidics, proteomics, high throughput screening, rheology of complex fluids and lab on a chip applications
(see also Biomedical Engineering Faculty, Materials Engineering Faculty)  
Petia Valhovska
Ph.D., Yale University
Associate Professor
Petia_Vlahovska@brown.edu
Vlahovska Research Group
Complex fluids, colloid and surface science, soft matter
(see also Mechanical Engineering Faculty)  
Chemical and Biochemical ENGINEERING Emeriti and Research Faculty
Joseph (Jose') Manuel Calo
Ph.D. Princeton University
Professor Emeritus; Professor (Research)
Joseph_Calo@Brown.EDU
Applied chemical kinetics; carbon materials; energy/environmental technology
(see also Environmental Engineering Faculty)  
Bruce Caswell
Ph.D., Stanford University
Professor Emeritus, Professor (Research)
Bruce_Caswell@Brown.EDU
Viscoelastic flows; heat transfer