Brown University School of Engineering

Electrical Engineering Faculty

Electrical ENGINEERING Faculty
Ruth Iris Bahar, Ph.D., University of Colorado
Professor
Ruth_Bahar@Brown.EDU
Computer Engineering at LEMS
Computer Architecture, Low-Power Design, and Computer-Aided VLSI Design.
(see also Computer Engineering Faculty)    
Rod Beresford, Ph.D., Columbia University
Associate Dean; Professor
rod_beresford@Brown.EDU
Molecular beam epitaxy, electronic materials and devices, quantum well and superlattice device physics.
Jerry Daniels, Ph.D., University of California at Berkeley
Associate Professor
Jerry_Daniels@Brown.EDU
Neural networks, genetic algorithms, visual physiology, eye movements, development of the nervous system, bio-instrumentation.
(see also Biomedical Engineering Faculty)     
Leigh Hochberg, Ph.D., M.D. Emory University
Associate Professor
Leigh_Hochberg@brown.edu 
Clinical Interests: Stroke, Neurocritical Care
Translational Neuroscience Interests: Brain-Computer Interfaces, Neurotechnology
(see also Biomedical Engineering Faculty)    
Benjamin Kimia, Ph.D., McGill University
Professor
Benjamin_Kimia@Brown.edu
Computer Vision at LEMS
Computer vision and image processing, artificial intelligence
(see also Computer Engineering Faculty)     
Larry Larson, Ph.D., UCLA
Dean, School of Engineering; Rush C. Hawkins University Professor of Engineering 
Wireless communications, Semiconductor devices, high-frequency circuits, communications systems  
Arto Nurmikko, Ph.D., University of California at Berkeley
L. Herbert Ballou University Professor of Engineering and Physics
Arto_Nurmikko@brown.edu
Nanophotonics and Neuroengineering Laboratory
Nanophotonics, Nanomaterials, and Neuroengineering/ Neurotechnology
(see also Biomedical Engineering Faculty)    
Domenico Pacifici, Ph.D., University of Catania, Italy
Assistant Professor
Domenico_Pacifici@brown.edu
Pacifici Research Group
Silicon-based microphotonics, nanophotonics, plasmonics. Nanoengineered materials and devices for information, sensing and energy-harvesting applications.
(see also Biomedical Engineering Faculty)    
Sherief Reda, Ph.D., University of California, San Diego
Associate Professor
Sherief_Reda@brown.edu
Computer Engineering at LEMS
Scalable Computing Systems Laboratory (SCALE)
Energy-efficient computing systems, design automation and test of integrated circuits, computer architecture, reconfigurable computing.
(see also Computer Engineering Faculty)     
Jacob Rosenstein, Ph.D., Columbia University
Assistant Professor
Jacob_Rosenstein@brown.edu
Computer Engineering at LEMS
Mixed-signal electronics, instrumentation, electrophysiology, nanopore sensors, embedded systems, VLSI, sensor interfaces, microfluidics.
(see also Computer Engineering Faculty)     
Harvey Silverman, Ph.D., Brown University
Professor
hfs@lems.brown.edu
Computer Engineering at LEMS
Digital signal processing, speech recognition and analysis, computer architecture, microphone-array systems, nonlinear optimization.
(see also Computer Engineering Faculty)     
Gabriel Taubin, Ph.D., Brown University
Associate Professor
taubin@brown.edu
Computer Vision at LEMS
Computer vision, computer graphics, geometric modeling, mesh signal processing, geometry compression, smart cameras, smart sensor networks, embedded systems.
(see also Computer Engineering Faculty)     
Jimmy Xu, Ph.D., University of Minnesota
Charles C. Tillinghast Jr. '32 University Professor, Engineering and Physics
Jimmy_Xu@brown.edu
Laboratory for Emerging Technologies
Fabrication and physics of novel nanostructures, DNA-based molecular engineering, and opto-electronics
(see also Biomedical Engineering Faculty)    
Alexander Zaslavsky, Ph.D., Princeton University
Professor of Engineering and Physics
Alexander_Zaslavsky@brown.edu
Physics and technology of semiconductor microstructures and devices
Rashid Zia, Ph.D., Stanford University
Associate Professor of Engineering and Physics
Rashid_Zia@brown.edu
Zia Laboratory
Nanophotonics, near-field optics, plasmonics, single emitter spectroscopy, single photon sources, and cavity-free QED
William Patterson
Senior Lecturer and Senior Research Engineer
patterson@engin.brown.edu
Computer architecture, analog/digital design.
Electrical ENGINEERING Emeriti and Research Faculty
David Cooper, Ph.D., Columbia University
Professor Emeritus; Professor (Research)
David_Cooper@Brown.EDU
SHAPE Lab
Computer Vision at LEMS
Computer vision, pattern recognition, communication and information sciences.
(see also Computer Engineering Faculty)     
Barrett Hazeltine, Ph.D., University of Michigan
Professor Emeritus
Barrett_Hazeltine@Brown.edu
Management of technology, technology in development, engineering education, digital systems.
Vladan Mlinar, Ph. D., University of Antwerp, Belgium
Assistant Professor (Research)
Vladan_Mlinar@brown.edu
Theoretical and computational nanoscience, design of nanomaterials, and devices for energy and quantum information applications.
Joseph Mundy, Ph.D., Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Professor (Research)
mundy@lems.brown.edu
Computer Vision at LEMS
Computer vision, artificial intelligence, multimedia
(see also Computer Engineering Faculty)