Brown University School of Engineering

Materials Engineering Faculty

Materials ENGINEERING Faculty
Clyde Briant, Sc.D., Columbia University
Otis E. Randall University Professor
Clyde_Briant@brown.edu
Physical metallurgy, materials processing, refractory metals, high strain-rate deformation.
Eric Chason, Ph.D., Harvard University 
Professor
Eric_Chason_PhD@brown.edu
Chason Laboratory
Thin film evolution, in situ diagnostics, computer simulation.
Robert Hurt, Ph.D. M.I.T.
Professor
Robert_Hurt@brown.edu
Laboratory for Environmental and Health Nanoscience (LEHN)
Carbon materials, mesogenic materials, nanotoxicology, nanomaterials in the environment, graphene-based materials.
(see also Biomedical Engineering Faculty, Chemical and Biochemical Engineering Faculty, Environmental Engineering Faculty   
Angus Kingon
Barrett Hazeltine University Professor of Entrepreneurship and Organizational Studies; Director, BEO Program; Co-Director PRIME Program
B&H 602, 503(L), 607(L) 
angus@brown.edu
Sharvan Kumar, Ph.D., Drexel University 
Professor
Sharvan_Kumar@brown.edu
Composites, intermetallics, physical metallurgy, materials processing, high temperature mechanical behavior
Nitin P. Padture, Ph.D., Lehigh University
Professor; Director, Institute for Molecular and Nanoscale Innovation (IMNI)
Nitin_Padture@Brown.edu
Advanced Ceramics and Nanomaterials Laboratory
Advanced ceramics, composites, and coatings; nanomaterials; synthesis/processing; characterization; mechanical behavior; thermal, optical, and electronic properties. 
David Paine, Ph.D., Stanford University 
Professor; Associate Provost
David_Paine@brown.edu
Synthesis and characterization of electronic materials, ultra-high pressure methods, rapid thermal CVD, electron microscopy, X-ray diffractometry, optical and electrical characterization.
G. Tayhas Palmore, Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Professor of Engineering and Medical Science; Professor of Chemistry
Tayhas_Palmore@brown.edu
Molecular crystals, biological fuel cells, biomaterials
(see also Biomedical Engineering Faculty, Chemical and Biochemical Engineering Faculty, Environmental Engineering Faculty    
Brian Sheldon, Sc.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology 
Professor
Brian_Sheldon@brown.edu
Synthesis and processing of advanced ceramics and diamond films, oxidation of high-temperature materials.
(see also Chemical and Biochemical Engineering Faculty)     
Anita Shukla, Ph.D., M.I.T.
Assistant Professor 
Anita_Shukla@brown.edu
Shukla Lab for Designer Biomaterials
Biomaterials, self-assembly, drug delivery, regenerative medicine.
(see also Biomedical Engineering Faculty, Chemical and Biochemical Engineering Faculty) 
Anubhav Tripathi, Ph.D., City University of New York
Professor; Co-Director, Center for Biomedical Engineering
Anubhav_Tripathi@brown.edu
Understanding complex biomaterials using microfluidics, proteomics, high throughput screening, rheology of complex fluids and lab on a chip applications
(see also Biomedical Engineering Faculty, Chemical and Biochemical Engineering Faculty)     
Axel van de Walle, Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Associate Professor 
avdw@brown.edu
Virtual Materials Laboratory
Computational materials science, first principles calculations, thermodynamics, energy materials.
Ian Y. Wong, Ph.D., Stanford University
Assistant Professor 
Ian_Wong@brown.edu
Wong Laboratory
Biomaterials, nanofabrication, 3D printing, directed self-assembly, polymer physics.
(see also Biomedical Engineering Faculty)