Brown University School of Engineering

Mechanical Engineering Faculty

Mechanical ENGINEERING Faculty
Janet Blume, Ph.D., California Institute of Technology 
Associate Professor
Janet_Blume@Brown.EDU
Finite deformation solid mechanics, constitutive equations. 
(see also Civil Engineering Faculty)     
Allan Bower, Ph.D., Cambridge University
Royce Family Professor of Teaching Excellence and Professor of Engineering
Allan_Bower@Brown.EDU
Tribology, fracture mechanics, microstructural modeling of materials, strength of contacting surfaces.
Kenneth Breuer, Ph.D. M.I.T.
Professor
kbreuer@brown.edu
Breuer Lab
Fluid Mechanics, including micron and nanometer scale fluid mechanics, animal locomotion and turbulent flows.
(see also Biomedical Engineering Faculty)    
Christian Franck, Ph.D., California Institute of Technology
Assistant Professor
franck@brown.edu
Franck Lab for Experimental Micromechanics
Cell Mechanics, physics of soft materials, 3D microscopy, micromechanics.
(see also Biomedical Engineering Faculty)     
Jennifer Franck, Ph.D., California Institute of Technology
Lecturer
Jennifer_Franck@brown.edu
Computational fluid dynamics, including applications in aeronautics, flow control, wind/tidal energy.
Huajian Gao, Ph.D., Harvard University
Walter H. Annenberg Professor of Engineering
Huajian_Gao@brown.edu
Gao Research Group
Biomechanics, nanomechanics, mechanics of thin films, mechanics of hierarchical materials, fracture mechanics.
(see also Biomedical Engineering Faculty)     
Pradeep Guduru, Ph.D., California Institute of Technology
Professor
Pradeep_Guduru@Brown.edu
Experimental Solid Mechanics Laboratory
Experimental mechanics at micron and nanometer scales, micro-sensors, dynamic deformation and fracture. 
David Henann, Ph.D., M.I.T.
Assistant Professor
David_Henann@brown.edu
Theoretical and computational mechanics, granular materials, soft materials.
Haneesh Kesari, Ph.D., Stanford University
Assistant Professor
Haneesh_Kesari@brown.edu
Analytical and experimental mechanics, structural biomaterials.
Kyung-Suk Kim, Ph.D., Brown University 
Professor; Director, Center for Advanced Materials Research (CAMR) 
Kyung-Suk_Kim@brown.EDU
Nano and Micromechanics Laboratory
Nano- and micro-mechanics of solids, adhesion, experimental mechanics. 
(see also Biomedical Engineering Faculty)     
Joseph T. C. Liu, Ph.D., California Institute of Technology 
Professor
Joseph_Liu@Brown.edu
Nanofluids, boundary layer heat transfer enhancement and streamwise vortices, nonlinear hydrodynamic stability.
Shreyas Mandre, Ph.D. University of British Columbia
Assistant Professor
shreyas_mandre@brown.edu
Mandre Research Group
Fluid-structure interaction, wetting and interfacial flows, heat and mass transport.
Thomas Powers, Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania
Professor of Engineering and Physics
Thomas_Powers@Brown.EDU
Molecular and cellular biomechanics.
Peter Damian Richardson, Ph.D., D.Sc., University of London
Professor
Peter_Richardson@Brown.EDU
Biomedical fluid mechanics, soft tissue mechanics, atherolclerosis, thrombosis, and transport processes.
(see also Biomedical Engineering Faculty)     
Petia Valhovska, Ph.D., Yale University
Associate Professor
Petia_Vlahovska@brown.edu
Vlahovska Research Group
Physico-chemical hydrodynamics, complex fluids, membrane biophysics.
(see also Chemical and Biochemical Engineering Faculty)     
Mechanical ENGINEERING Emeriti and Research Faculty
Rodney Clifton, Ph.D., Carnegie Institute of Technology 
Professor Emeritus; Professor (Research)
Rodney_Clifton@brown.edu
Dynamic plasticity, dynamic fracture, phase transformations. 
(see also Civil Engineering Faculty)