Graduate Students in English

Andrea Actis

Research Interests: 20th- and 21st-Century North American literature; U.S. intellectual and institutional history; aesthetic theory; affect; critical animal studies; avant-gardism by other means and names 
Andrea_Actis@brown.edu

Angela Allan

Research Interests: 20th-Century American fiction
Office Hours
Angela_Allan@brown.edu 

Aaron Apps

Research Interests: Poetry and poetics; gender and sexuality; creative writing
Aaron_Apps@brown.edu

Matthew Beach

Research Interests: 19th- and 20th-Century American literature; gender and queer theory; film; psychoanalytic theory
Matthew_Beach@brown.edu

James Beaver

Research Interests: Early modern; metaphysical poets; mathematics and sciences; Walter Benjamin
James_Beaver@brown.edu

Matthew Colburn

Research Interests: 20th-Century American fiction; narrative theory; the short story
Matthew_Colburn@brown.edu

Nathaniel Conroy

Research Interests: 20th-Century fiction; critical theory 
Nathaniel_Conroy@brown.edu

Jeffrey Covington

Research Interests: 20th-Century British literature; memory, war & literature; aesthetics & politics
Jeffrey_Covington@brown.edu

Derek Ettensohn

Research Interests: Postcolonial literature; early 20th-Century American literature; gender theory
Derek_Ettensohn@brown.edu

Nicholas Farruggia

Research Interests: 20th-and 21st-Century theory/literature; American studies
Nicholas_Farruggia@brown.edu

Kathleen Fitzpatrick

Research Interests: 20th-Century American literature; political theory; gender & sexuality; literature & the cold war
Office Hours
Kathleen_Fitzpatrick@brown.edu

Sachelle Ford

Research Interests: African-American and Afro-Caribbean literature; postcolonial theory
Office Hours
Sachelle_Ford@brown.edu

Claire Gullander-Drolet

Research Interests: 20th-and 21st-Century American literature; critical race and gender theory; postcolonial literature; feminism, affect and the body; East Asian diaspora; translation
Claire_Gullander-Drolet@brown.edu

David Hollingshead

Research Interests: 19th- and early 20th-Century American realism and naturalism 
David_Hollingshead@brown.edu

Sean Keck

Research Interests: 19th- and 20th-Century American literature
Sean_Keck@brown.edu

Peter Kim

Research Interests: 19th-Century British literature; literary theory; aesthetics
Peter_Kim@brown.edu

Andrew Lack

Research Interests: 20th-Century American literature
Office Hours
Andrew_Lack@brown.edu

David Liao

Research Interests: Contemporary British and American literature (20th and 21st century); memory; postmodernism; world literature
Office Hours
David_Liao@brown.edu

Katherine Miller

Research Interests: Modernism
Office Hours
Katherine_Miller@brown.edu

John Mulligan

Research Interests: Romantic literature; literary theory
Office Hours
John_Mulligan@brown.edu

John Murillo

Research Interests: Afro-pessimism; poetics; rhythm; quantum mechanics; jazz aesthetics; psychoanalysis
Office Hours
John_Murillo@brown.edu

Jeffrey Nagy

Research Interests: Poetry and poetics 
Jeffrey_Nagy@brown.edu

Andrew Naughton

Research Interests: 17th-Century English literature; Milton and religion; lyric poetry
Andrew_Naughton@brown.edu

Jeffrey Neilson

Research Interests: 19th- and 20th-Century American poetry; American Renaissance; Pragmatism and Literary Aesthetics; Religion and Literature
Jeffrey_Neilson@brown.edu

Sarah Osment

Research Interests: Late modernist American literature and poetics; aesthetics and anti-aesthetics; negativity and the nation state
Sarah_Osment@brown.edu

Sara Pfaff

Research Interests: 20th-century American literature, especially African-American and Native-American literature; science studies; political theories of liberalism 
Sara_Pfaff@brown.edu

Michelle Rada

Research Interests: Modernism; film, psychoanalysis, phenomenology
Michelle_Rada@brown.edu

Swetha Regunathan

Research Interests: Early modern literature and theories of modernity; Postcolonial theory and globalization; South Asian diaspora; film
Swetha_Regunathan@brown.edu

Louisa Rockwell

Research Interests: 20th-Century American literature; Post-colonial literature; critical race theory
Louisa_Rockwell@brown.edu

Ian Sampson

Research Interests: Poetry and poetics; psychoanalytic theory; material culture (especially print culture and the history of the book)
Office Hours
Ian_Sampson@brown.edu

Jennifer Schnepf

Research Interests: 20th-Century American literature
Jennifer_Schnepf@brown.edu

Joel Simundich

Research Interests: 19th-Century British literature; theories of the novel; science studies; disability studies
Joel_Simundich@brown.edu

Dorin Smith

Research Interests: 18th-and 19th-Century American literature; aesthetics; cognitive approaches to literary analysis; American nationalism; American pragmatism; transatlantic literature (specifically American, English, and German)
Dorin_Smith@brown.edu

Jennie Snow

Research Interests: 20th-Century literature; war and literature; politics and aesthetics; poetry and poetics; phenomenology
Jennie_Snow@brown.edu

Steven Swarbrick

Research Interests: 16th- and 17th-Century English literature and culture; science studies; literature and ecology; theories of mind and affect 
Steven_Swarbrick@brown.edu

Jessamyn Swift

Research Interests: Science and literature; STS; feminist science studies; new materialisms; literature and ecology
Jessamyn_Swift@brown.edu

Jessica Tabak

Research Interests: Early modern English drama; the impact of unsanctioned desire on the trajectory of heteronormative narrative
Jessica_Tabak@brown.edu

Jerrine Tan

Research Interests: 19th-Century British; 20th-Century American; gender & sexuality; theory; queer theory; film
Office Hours
Jerrine_Tan@brown.edu

Anna Thomas

Research Interests: 19th-and 20th-Century fiction; eugenics; critical race theory
Anna_Thomas@brown.edu

Stephanie Tilden

Research Interests: 19th-Century American literature  
Stephanie_Tilden@brown.edu

Rebecca van Laer

Research Interests: Poetry and poetics; 20th-Century and Contemporary literature; history of the novel; genre theory; the long poem; creative writing
Rebecca_van_Laer@brown.edu

Jeremy Walker

Research Interests: Victorian literature and culture; perfectionism; embodiment; queer studies
Jeremy_Walker@brown.edu

Jennifer Wang

Research Interests: Asian North American literature; postcolonial and diaspora studies
Jennifer_F_Wang@brown.edu

Dashiell Wasserman

Research Interests: 20th-Century American literature; critical theory
Dashiell_Wasserman@brown.edu

Alison Wright

Research Interests: Shakespeare; feminist criticism
Alison_Wright@brown.edu

Krystal Yang

Research Interests: 20th- and 21st-Century Ethnic literature (specifically Asian American and African American); Asian American Studies; critical race and gender theory; postcolonial studies; transnational feminism; globalization and diaspora; citizenship and nationality; Western imperialism; poststructuralism and deconstruction
Krystal_Yang@brown.edu

Minta Zlomke

Research Interests: 17th-Century literature; ideologies of race and national and cultural identity
Minta_Ziomke@brown.edu