Nonfiction Writing Program

The Daily Enrollment Report

Due to the popularity of the Nonfiction classes, we keep a Daily Enrollment Report. This report is intended to help students navigate the sometimes-frantic shopping period by letting them see which courses may have openings. The report is updated regularly.

Overview

In the fall of 2006, The Expository Writing Program changed its title to The Nonfiction Writing Program in the English Department at Brown. The content of the program remains nonfiction in all its many sub-genres -- the academic essay, journalism, and creative nonfiction (memoir, literary journalism, lyric essay, historical narrative, travel essay, science writing, and cultural critique).

The Nonfiction Writing Program attracts students from all disciplines by offering courses ranging from critical reading and writing to real world writing. We are as concerned with the discourse of university intellectual life as with writing for non-academic audiences. To that end, the Nonfiction Writing Program brings together three forms of writing: academic essay, journalism, and creative nonfiction. The factual precision of journalism, the narrative and essayistic latitudes of creative nonfiction, and the intellectual rigor of academic discourse offer perspectives from which we can critique and rethink the conventional boundaries of each form of writing. We seek to redefine practices of reading and writing and thereby to gain a new perspective on our experiences with language. All classes are conducted in small seminar settings.

Please consider joining our Nonfiction News Group where program announcements (readings, special events, contests), news of writing opportunities (summer and academic year internships, jobs, etc), and publication solicitations will be posted. 

If you would like something posted, please contact the Listserv administrators, Elizabeth Taylor, Lawrence Stanley or Catherine Imbriglio. One of us will post your message. And of course, if you are not already a member, please join!

Department Officers

Larry Stanley

Co-Director of the Nonfiction Writing Program

Elizabeth Taylor

Co-Director of the Nonfiction Writing Program

Catherine Imbriglio

Nonfiction Honors Advisor

Faculty

Tracy Breton

Visiting Professor of English, Nonfiction Writing Program
Office: 70 Brown St., Rm. 216
Phone: (401) 863-3744
Tracy_Breton@brown.edu

Carol DeBoer-Langworthy

Lecturer in English, Nonfiction Writing Program
Office: 70 Brown St., Rm. 311
Phone: (401) 863-9454
Carol_DeBoer-Langworthy@brown.edu

Mark Feeney

Visiting Lecturer in English
Office: 70 Brown St., Rm. 216
Phone: (401) 863-3749
Mark_Feeney@Brown.edu

Adam Golaski

Visiting Lecturer in English
Office: 70 Brown St., Rm. 224
Phone: (401) 863-3751
Adam_Golaski@brown.edu

Ed Hardy

Visiting Lecturer in English, Nonfiction Writing Program
Office: 70 Brown St., Rm. 211
Phone: (401) 863-9175
Edward_Hardy@brown.edu

Catherine Imbriglio

Senior Lecturer in English, Nonfiction Writing Program, and Honors Advisor, Nonfiction Writing Program
Office: 70 Brown St., Rm. 426
Phone: (401) 863-3740
Catherine_Imbriglio@brown.edu

Thomas Mooney

Visiting Lecturer in English, Nonfiction Writing Program
Office: 70 Brown St., Rm. 216
Phone: (401) 863-3749
Thomas_Mooney@brown.edu

Jonathan Readey

Lecturer in English, Nonfiction Writing Program
Office: 70 Brown St., Rm. 334
Phone: (401) 863-9263
Jonathan_Readey@brown.edu

Susan Resnick

Visiting Lecturer in English
Office: 70 Brown St., Rm. 311
Phone: (401) 863-9454
Susan_Resnick@brown.edu

Kate Schapira

Lecturer in English, Nonfiction Writing Program
Office: 70 Brown St., Rm. 316
Phone: (401) 863-9455
Kate_Schapira@brown.edu

Anna Solomon

Visiting Lecturer in English
Office: 70 Brown St., Rm 334
Phone: (401) 863-9266
Anna_Solomon@brown.edu

Lawrence Stanley

Senior Lecturer in English, Co-Director of the Nonfiction Writing Program
Office: 70 Brown St., Rm. 330
Phone: (401) 863-3623
Lawrence_Stanley@brown.edu

Michael Stewart

Lecturer in English, Nonfiction Writing Program
Office: 70 Brown St., Rm. 401A
Phone: (401) 863-9298
Michael_H_Stewart@brown.edu

Elizabeth Taylor

Senior Lecturer in English, Co-Director of the Nonfiction Writing Program
Office: 70 Brown St., Rm. 402
Phone: (401) 863-3743
Elizabeth_Taylor@brown.edu

Robert P. Ward

Visiting Lecturer in English
Office: 70 Brown St., Rm. 206
Phone: (401) 863-3727
Robert_P_Ward@brown.edu