Ecology and Evolutionary Biology

 
Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology

Research and instruction in the Department is directed toward understanding biological systems at the individual, population, and community levels of organization utilizing both plant, animal, and microbial systems. Major research areas pursued by faculty and students include functional morphology, foraging ecology, the adaptive significance of animal behavior, sexual selection in plants and animals, insect mating behavior, plant population genetics, molecular population genetics and evolution, marine community ecology, theoretical population and community ecology, and ecosystem ecology.
Graduate study in ecology and evolutionary biology at Brown University leads to the PhD degree. A core of faculty and postdoctoral researchers engaged in cutting edge research guides students. Students further benefit from the Department's academic collaborations across University and Alpert Medical School departments and programs. The Brown/Marine Biological Laboratory Joint Graduate Program offers students an opportunity to work with faculty at both Brown and the renowned MBL in Woods Hole, Massachusetts. Faculty and students are also active prominently in the Environmental Change Initiative, a multidisciplinary center at Brown tackling the complex issues undergirding environmental change.

›View Ecology and Evolutionary Biology site
Browse by Department:

Can't find the faculty member you are looking for? Search entire Brown directory

Name Title Department Mail
Phone
Amaral Zettler, Linda Assistant Professor (MBL) of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Linda_Amaral_Zettl_1@brown.edu
Amatangelo, Kathryn Adjunct Assistant Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biol Bio Med Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
+1 401 863 1000
Baier, David Adjunct Associate Professor of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Ecology & Evolutionary Biology David_Baier@Brown.EDU
Bertness, Mark Robert P. Brown Professor of Biology Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Mark_Bertness@Brown.EDU
+1 401 863 2280
Brainerd, Elizabeth Professor of Medical Science Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Elizabeth_Brainerd@brown.edu
+1 401 863 9261
Deegan, Linda Professor (MBL) of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
Ducklow, Hugh Professor (MBL) of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Hugh_Ducklow@brown.edu
Dunn, Casey Assistant Professor of Biology Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Casey_Dunn@brown.edu
+1 401 863 9806
Early, Regan Adjunct Asst Professor of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Bio Med Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Regan_Early@brown.edu
+1 401 863 2799
Edwards, Erika Associate Professor of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Erika_Edwards@brown.edu
+1 401 863 2081
Gatesy, Stephen Professor of Biology Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Stephen_Gatesy@Brown.EDU
+1 401 863 3770
Giblin, Anne Professor (MBL) of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
Goslow, George Professor Emeritus of Biology Ecology & Evolutionary Biology George_Goslow_Jr@Brown.EDU
Hamburg, Steven Adjunct Faculty Center for Environmental Studies shamburg@edf.org
+1 401 863 1261
Hanlon, Roger Professor (Mbl) of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology Bio Med Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Roger_Hanlon@brown.edu
+1 508 274 3633
Hobbie, John Professor (MBL) of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Ecology & Evolutionary Biology John_Hobbie@brown.edu
Huber, Julie Assistant Professor (MBL) of Biology Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Julie_Huber@brown.edu
Jackson, Fred Teaching Associate in Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Fred_Jackson@Brown.EDU
+1 401 863 3077
Jaeger, Heinke Research Associate in Ecology and Evolutionary Biology Bio Med Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Heinke_Jaeger@brown.edu
+1 401 863 6830
Janis, Christine Marie Professor of Biology Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Christine_Janis@Brown.EDU
+1 401 863 2215
Jenkins, Bethany Adjunct Asst Professor in Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Bio Med Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
+1 401 863 2100
Jenkins, Bethany Adjunct Associate Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biol Bio Med Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
+1 401 874 7551
Kellner, James Assistant Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology Bio Med Ecology & Evolutionary Biology James_R_Kellner@brown.edu
+1 401 863 5768
Leslie, Andrew Assistant Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology Bio Med Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
+1 203 432 7168
Leslie, Heather Assistant Professor of Environmental Studies and Biology Ecology & Evolutionary Biology and Center for Environmental Studies Heather_Leslie@brown.edu
+1 401 863 6277 (office)
Mark Welch, David Assistant Professor (MBL) of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
Marsh, Richard Adjunct Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology Bio Med Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Richard_Marsh@brown.edu
Melillo, Jerry Professor (MBL) of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Jerry_Melillo@brown.edu
+1 401 863 3324
Metzger, Keith Adjunct Associate Professor of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Keith_Metzger@brown.edu
+1 201 883 9320
Morse, Douglass Hermon Carey Bumpus Professor Emeritus of Biology and Professor of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Ecology & Evolutionary Biology D_Morse@Brown.EDU
+1 401 863 3152
Neill, Christopher Associate Professor (MBL) of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Ecology & Evolutionary Biology cneill@mbl.edu
Peterson, Bruce Professor (MBL) of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Bruce_Peterson@brown.edu
Porder, Stephen Associate Professor of Biology Ecology & Evolutionary Biology and Center for Environmental Studies Stephen_Porder@brown.edu
Ramachandran, Sohini Assistant Professor of Biology Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Sohini_Ramachandran@brown.edu
+1 401 863 9701
Rand, David Professor of Biology Department of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology David_Rand@Brown.EDU
+1 401 863 2890
Rastetter, Edward Professor (MBL) of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Edward_Rastetter_1@brown.edu
Rich, Jeremy Assistant Professor of Ecology & Environmental Biology Ecology & Evolutionary Biology and Center for Environmental Studies Jeremy_Rich@brown.edu
+1 401 863 6748
Ritter, Dale Lecturer in Biology Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Dale_Ritter@Brown.EDU
+1 401 863 3754
Roberts, Thomas Associate Professor of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Thomas_Roberts@brown.edu
+1 401 863 3608
Sala, Osvaldo Adjunct Professor of Biology Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Osvaldo_Sala@brown.edu
+1 401 863 7793
Sax, Dov Associate Professor Ecology and Evolutionary Biology & Center for Environmental Studies dov_sax@brown.edu
+1 401 863 9676
Shaver, Gaius Professor (MBL) of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Gaius_Shaver@brown.edu
Simmons, Sheri Assistant Professor of Ecology/Evolutionary Biology (Mbl) Bay Paul Center, MBL Sheri_Simmons@brown.edu
+1 508 289 7177
Smith, Franz Investigator in Ecology and Evolutionary Biology Bio Med Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Franz_Smith@brown.edu
+1 401 863 2748
Smith, Katherine Assistant Professor of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Katherine_Smith@brown.edu
+1 401 863 1266
Stinchcombe, John Adjunct Assistant Professor in Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
+1 401 863 3324
Swartz, Sharon Professor of Biology and Engineering Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, Engineering Sharon_Swartz@Brown.EDU
+1 401 863 1582
Tang, Jianwu Assistant Professor (MBL) of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
Tatar, Marc Professor of Biology Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Marc_Tatar@Brown.EDU
+1 401 863 3455
Vallino, Joseph Assistant Professor (MBL) of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Joseph_Vallino@brown.edu
Waage, Jonathan Professor of Biology Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Jonathan_Waage@Brown.EDU
+1 401 863 2466
Weinreich, Daniel Assistant Professor of Biology Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Daniel_Weinreich@brown.edu
+1 401 863 3937
Wernegreen, Jennifer Associate Professor (MBL) of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
Whitfeld, Timothy Assistant Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology (Res Bio Med Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Timothy_Whitfeld@brown.edu
+1 401 863 2100
Witman, Jon Professor of Biology Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Jon_Witman@Brown.EDU
+1 401 863 3936