Neuroscience

 
Department of Neuroscience

›View Neuroscience site

The mission of the Department of Neuroscience is to do excellent teaching and research on the basic functions and diseases of the nervous system. Areas of interest include neural plasticity, information processing, and neuronal and synaptic functions, particularly as they relate to development, sensory perception, motor behavior, and cognition. The 20 campus-based neuroscience faculty train undergraduate, graduate, postdoctoral, and medical students in molecular, cellular, developmental, systems, cognitive, and theoretical neuroscience. There are currently forty-two doctoral students in the Neuroscience Graduate Program and the innovative Brown-NIH Graduate Program Partnership, and 122 undergraduate students are enrolled in the neuroscience concentration. Members of the Department also participate in the MRI Research Facility, the Center for Vision Research, and several NIH and NIMH training grants for graduate and postdoctoral fellows studying neuroscience and vision sciences.
The Department is also a cornerstone of Brown's Institute for Brain Science, a multidisciplinary consortium of about ninety faculty from eleven departments that promotes collaborative theoretical and experimental studies of the brain, and the Norman Prince Neurosciences Institute at Rhode Island Hospital.

All Faculty   A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   X   Y   Z

Name Contact
Carlos Aizenman
Associate Professor of Neuroscience
carlos_aizenman-stern@brown.edu
(401) 863-6015
James A Anderson
Professor of Cognitive, Linguistic and Psychological Sciences
james_anderson@brown.edu
(401) 863-2195
Wael Asaad
Assistant Professor of Neurosurgery, Assistant Professor of Neuroscience
wael_asaad@brown.edu
(401) 863-1000
Gilad Barnea
Robert and Nancy Carney Assistant Professor of Neuroscience
gilad_barnea@brown.edu
(401) 863-3126
Patrick Bedard
Assistant Professor of Neuroscience (Research)
patrick_bedard@brown.edu
(401) 863-1258
David M Berson
Sidney A. Fox and Dorothea Doctors Fox Professor of Ophthalmology and Visual Science, Professor of Medical Science
david_berson@brown.edu
(401) 863-2555
Lucien J Bienenstock
Associate Professor of Applied Mathematics and Neuroscience
lucien_bienenstock@brown.edu
(401) 863-1195
Barry W Connors
L. Herbert Ballou University Professor of Neuroscience, Professor of Medical Science, Chair of Neuroscience
barry_connors@brown.edu
(401) 863-2982
Scott J Cruikshank
Assistant Professor of Neuroscience (Research)
scott_cruikshank@brown.edu
(401) 863-7597
John P Donoghue
Henry Merritt Wriston Professor of Neuroscience, Director of Brown Institute for Brain Science
john_donoghue@brown.edu
(401) 863-2701
Justin R Fallon
Professor of Medical Science, Professor of Psychiatry and Human Behavior, Co-Director of the BIBS Center for Neurobiology of Cells and Circuits
justin_fallon@brown.edu
(401) 863-9308
Anne C Hart
NIH Graduate Partnership Program (NIH GPP) Director, Professor of Neuroscience
anne_hart@brown.edu
(401) 863-2822
Beata Jarosiewicz
Associate Professor of Neuroscience (Research)
beata_jarosiewicz@brown.edu
(401) 863-6945
Alexander Jaworski
Assistant Professor of Neuroscience
alexander_jaworski@brown.edu
(401) 863-1963
Stephanie R Jones
Assistant Professor of Neuroscience (Research)
stephanie_jones@brown.edu
(401) 863-1000
Julie Kauer
Professor of Medical Science, Professor of Neuroscience
julie_kauer@brown.edu
(401) 863-9803
Karla Kaun
Assistant Professor of Neuroscience
karla_kaun@brown.edu
(401) 863-5825
Monica Linden
Lecturer in Neuroscience
monica_linden@brown.edu
(401) 863-5192
Diane Lipscombe
Professor of Neuroscience, Co-Director of the BIBS Center for Neurobiology of Cells and Circuits
diane_lipscombe@brown.edu
(401) 863-1092
Christopher I Moore
Associate Professor of Neuroscience
christopher_moore@brown.edu
(401) 863-1054
Michael A Paradiso
Sidney A. Fox and Dorothea Doctors Fox Professor of Opthalmology and Visual Science, Professor of Neuroscience, Vice Chair of Neuroscience
michael_paradiso@brown.edu
(401) 863-1159
Robert L Patrick
Associate Professor of Medical Science
robert_patrick@brown.edu
(401) 863-2630
Carl Saab
Assistant Professor of Neurosurgery (Research), Assistant Professor of Neuroscience (Research)
carl_saab@brown.edu
(401) 444-4290
Jerome Sanes
Professor of Neuroscience, Director of MRI Facility
jerome_sanes@brown.edu
(401) 863-2523
David Sheinberg
Professor of Neuroscience, Director of Neuroscience Graduate Program
david_sheinberg@brown.edu
(401) 863-9575
Andrea M Simmons
Professor of Cognitive, Linguistic and Psychological Sciences
andrea_simmons@brown.edu
(401) 863-2283
James A Simmons
Professor of Biology
james_simmons@brown.edu
(401) 863-1542
John J Stein
Senior Lecturer in Neuroscience
john_j_stein@brown.edu
(401) 863-2263
Wilson A Truccolo-Filho
Pablo J. Salame '88 Goldman Sachs Assistant Professor of Computational Neuroscience, Assistant Professor of Neuroscience
wilson_truccolo@brown.edu
(401) 863-7765
Edward G Walsh
Assistant Professor of Neuroscience (Research)
edward_walsh@brown.edu
(401) 863-6525
Michael S Worden
Assistant Professor of Neuroscience (Research)
michael_worden@brown.edu
(401) 863-6305

Can't find the faculty member you are looking for? Search entire Brown directory