Clerkship in Medicine

The core clerkship in medicine is a 12 week clerkship offered during the first three quarters of the academic year at four self-contained sites: Memorial Hospital of Rhode Island, Miriam Hospital, Rhode Island Hospital, and the Providence Veterans Affairs Hospital. Two months of the clerkship are spent on inpatient medicine services, and one month is spent in an outpatient internal medicine setting.

Mission Statement

To provide all students with a solid grounding in adult medicine, using a combination of experiential and classroom learning.

Educational Goals

To enhance students' skill in:

  • Effective Communication
  • Basic Clinical Skills
  • Using Basic Science in the Practice of Medicine
  • Diagnosis, Management and Prevention
  • Lifelong Learning

Suggested Textbooks

  • MKSAP for Students
  • Internal Medicine Essentials for Clerkship Students or similar

Required projects

N/A

Clerkship Sites and Personnel

Memorial Hospital

Clerkship Director
, MD
Phone: 729-2859

Clerkship Coordinator
Evelyn Valois
729-2859
evelyn_valois@mhri.org

Miriam Hospital

Clerkship Director
Beth Gentilesco, MD
Phone: 793-4001
bgentilesco@lifespan.org

Clerkship Coordinator
Diane Boulais
793-4001
DBoulais@lifespan.org

Rhode Island Hospital

Clerkship Director
Mark J. Fagan, MD
Ext. 444-5344
Pager 350-5462
mfagan@lifespan.org

Clerkship Coordinator
Rachel Correia
401-444-8472
kking4@lifespan.org

Veterans Affairs Hospital

Clerkship Director
Amos Charles, MD
Phone: 457-3062
Amos.Charles@va.gov

Clerkship Coordinator
Donna Golomboski
Phone: 273-7100 x3546
Donna.Golombosk@va.gov