Research Highlights


Prof. Greg Landsberg has been named Physics coordinator for the Compact Muon Solenoid.  In this role he will oversee part of the international hunt for new subatomic particles, including the Higgs boson. He began his two-year term in December. Read the full news article here.

The Fifth New England String Meeting at Brown University

Prof. Richard Gaitskell has been re-elected by members of the LUX Collaboration as co-spokesperson (along with Thomas Shutt). The LUX Experiment is searching directly for particle dark matter signals at the Sanford Lab, South Dakota, using a 350 kg Xe target. His role as spokesperson will continue through July 2013.

Physics graduate student, Shawna Hollen, is the recipient of the Brown/Wheaton Faculty Fellowship and the American Association of University Women (AAUW) American Fellowship.

Prof. Derek Stein has been appointed Manning Assistant Professor of Physics in recognition of his accomplishments as a scholar and teacher.

Meeting of the Division of Particles and Fields of the APS Brown University, Providence, Rhode Island

Eleventh Workshop on Non-Perturbative Quantum Chromodynamics

Prof. Anastasia Volovich is awarded an Early Career Research Award from the U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science.

Prof. Meenakshi Narain (see photo) and Graduate student Saptaparna Bhattacharya (see photo) spend time with the former President of India, Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam during his visit to Fermilab.

Read the article which reviews some selected results from the approximately 90 talks presented at the international Rencontres de Moriond conference.

Physics graduate student Michael Jokubaitis is awarded the 2011 National Defense Science and Engineering Graduate (NDSEG) Fellowship. Visit the NDSEG website here.

Prof. Brad Marston authors the article "Looking for new problems to solve? Consider the climate" posted in APS Physics.

The Cern Courier reviews BCS - 50 Years, By Prof. Leon Cooper and Prof. Dimitri Feldman (eds.)