Faculty

Faculty in BSS conduct collaborative research across disciplines with a substantive focus on behavioral health issues related to alcohol and other drug abusesmoking and tobacco useobesity, nutrition, and physical activityHIV and sexually transmitted infectionsbehavioral medicine; and health disparities and culture.  

Primary Appointments
Clinical Faculty
Secondary Appointments
Adjunct Faculty and Research Associates
Emeritus Faculty

Department Chair:  Christopher W. Kahler, Ph.D.

Primary Appointments

Nancy Barnett
Associate Professor (Research)
Brief alcohol interventions; naturalistic change in problematic alcohol use; alcohol biosensor technology research; computer-based assessment and intervention; adolescent and young adult populations
Nancy_Barnett@brown.edu 

Brian Borsari
Associate Professor (Research)
Development and implementation of motivational interventions and interventions for veterans with PTSD and substance use; study of in-session processes of motivational interviewing; college student alcohol use; treating sleep in veterans with PTSD
Brian_Borsari@brown.edu

Kate Carey
Professor
Screening and brief interventions for at-risk drinkers; understanding mediators and moderators of intervention effects; social influences (e.g., perceived norms) on drinking behavior; assessing and enhancing motivation to change; alcohol’s effects on HIV risk behaviors
Kate_Carey@brown.edu

Shira Dunsiger
Assistant Professor (Research)
Advanced statistical methodology; Mediators and moderators of treatment effects; Patterns of behavior change; Methods for analyzing longitudinal incomplete binary data; Effects of Adherence on Behavioral Outcomes.
Shira_Dunsiger@ brown.edu

Kim Gans
Professor
Nutrition/weight control; community-based interventions; low literate/low income/ethnic minority populations; innovative technology for health promotion; physician education; improving food environments; translational/dissemination research
Kim_Gans@brown.edu

Chad Gwaltney
Assistant Professor (Research)
Smoking cessation and relapse; ecological momentary assessment (EMA) technology; Patient reported outcomes
Chad_Gwaltney@brown.edu

Abigail Harrison
Assistant Professor (Research)
Global health; social and contextual determinants of HIV/AIDS in South Africa; adolescent sexual risk behaviors and the transition to adulthood; gender, fertility and reproductive health; health disparities and structural interventions; qualitative and mixed methods research.
Abigail_Harrison@brown.edu

Lynn Hernandez
Assistant Professor (Research)
Culturally appropriate intervention development, ethnocultural moderators of treatment outcomes; adolescents’ substance use and sexual risk trajectories
Lynn_Hernandez@brown.edu

Kristina Jackson
Associate Professor (Research)
Developmental course, alcohol, initiation, progression, trajectories, adolescents, alcohol-tobacco comorbidity; longitudinal methodology and analysis, fine-grained data collection
Kristina_Jackson@brown.edu

Christopher Kahler
Professor and Department Chair
Smoking cessation; brief alcohol interventions; co-use of alcohol and tobacco; personality, affect, and addictions; alcohol and HIV/AIDS; positive psychology and positive psychotherapy
Christopher_Kahler@brown.edu

Akilah Dulin Keita
Assistant Professor
Obesity, nutrition and physical activity; health disparities and culture.
Akilah_Dulin_Keita@brown.edu

Caroline Kuo
Assistant Professor (Research)
Family behavioral and psychosocial interventions; culturally and contextually appropriate intervention adaptation and development; new HIV prevention strategies in vulnerable global populations; community-engaged HIV research and dissemination
Caroline_Kuo@Brown.edu

Molly Magill
Assistant Professor (Research)
Addictions treatment, behavioral or psychosocial interventions, longitudinal data-analysis; mechanisms of behavior change; mediators/moderators of treatment outcomes; process research
Molly_Magill@brown.edu

Rosemarie Ann Martin
Assistant Professor (Research)
Contingency management; motivating behavior change; design and methodology in substance abuse research, treating substance abuse in HIV+ persons
Rosemarie_Martin@brown.edu

Nadine Mastroleo
Assistant Professor (Research)
College student alcohol use; peer counseling interventions aimed at high risk college student drinking populations; counselor training approaches in brief, empirically supported treatments; Brief Alcohol/HIV Risk interventions
Nadine_Mastroleo@brown.edu

Jane Metrik
Assistant Professor (Research)
Pharmacological and psychological bases of acute effects of marijuana on behavior and decision-making process; genetic factors and other individual differences characterizing users most vulnerable to development of cannabis use disorders; alcohol marijuana interactions and cross-reactivity
Jane_Metrik@brown.edu

Peter M. Monti
Professor
Alcohol treatment; brief interventions; mechanisms of change; cue reactivity; pharmacotherapy; adolescent use and abuse; alcohol and HIV/AIDs
Peter_Monti@brown.edu

Amy Nunn
Assistant Professor
Racial disparities in HIV infection and linkage to care in the US; working with faith and other community leaders to eradicate racial disparities in HIV infection in the US; access to medicines and other technologies in developing countries, and community-based research and mobilization.
amycitanunn@gmail.com

Don Operario
Associate Professor and Graduate Program Director
HIV prevention in high-risk communities - domestic and international; behavioral/social determinants of health in race/ethnic, gender and sexual minority populations
Don_Operario@brown.edu

William Rakowski
Professor, Assistant Dean of Public Health for Academic Affairs
Utilization of cancer screening procedures; secondary analysis of population-level data sets; planning of health promotion intervention programs; stages of change for behavioral adoption
William_Rakowski@brown.edu

Damaris Rohsenow
Professor
Pharmacotherapy and behavioral treatment for smoking among substance abusers; effects of pharmacotherapies for alcohol or smoking on mechanisms of effect; cue reactivity; measures development for alcohol, smoking, cocaine use/abuse/treatment; behavioral treatments for cocaine dependence
Damaris_Rohsenow@brown.edu

Rochelle Rosen
Assistant Professor (Research)
Design of culturally relevant health behavior interventions using qualitative methodology; health research in the Pacific islands of American Samoa; vaginal microbicide acceptability
Rochelle_Rosen@brown.edu

Cynthia Rosengard
Associate Professor (Research)
Understanding contextual influences on adolescents' and young adults' sexual and reproductive health behaviors. Development, evaluation, and dissemination of evidenced-based interventions to decrease sexually-transmitted infections and unintended pregnancy.
Cynthia_Rosengard@Brown.edu

Nichea Spillane
Assistant Professor (Research)
Health disparities related to substance use in Indigenous People of North American (American Indians in the US and First Nations in Canada); smoking cessation treatment
Nichea_Spillane@brown.edu

Daniel Squires
Assistant Professor (Research)
Dissemination/Implementation Research; evidence-guided practices; training; community-based treatment; organizational change; addiction and related disorders; New England Addiction Technology Transfer Center
Daniel_Squires@brown.edu

Tara White
Assistant Professor (Research)
Neural basis of individual differences in emotion and drug effects using fMRI, monoamine challenge; validated laboratory assessments of temperament, affect and behavior
Tara_White@brown.edu

David Williams
Assistant Professor
Role of affect in health behavior; exercise promotion; smoking cessation; health behavior theory testing and development
David_M_Williams@brown.edu

Go to top

Clinical Faculty

John Fulton
Clinical Associate Professor
John_Fulton@brown.edu

Allison Minugh
Clinical Assistant Professor
Patricia_Minugh@brown.edu

Go to top

Secondary Appointments

Bruce Becker
Professor of Medicine
Smoking cessation in the clinical setting; ADHD/ADD, injuries, and treatment adherence; Improving IV Cannulatioin in children and adults in the Emergency Department
bbecker@lifespan.org

Beth Bock
Professor of Psychiatry & Human Behavior (Research)
Developing and testing innovative interventions for smoking cessation, exercise promotion, with an emphasis on the use of computer-based and mobile technologies to promote health behavior change.  Development of new behavioral theory to enhance our understanding of the process of decision making for stopping drug use among incarcerated individuals. 
bbock@lifespan.org

Belinda Borrelli
Professor of Psychiatry & Human Behavior (Research)
Developing and testing treatments to motivate health behavior change (e.g., smoking cessation, medication adherence, oral health, sleep apnea, asthma) in a variety of populations (parents of kids with asthma, people with disabilities, African Americans, Latinos, urban teens, older adults, Native Americans) using different intervention approaches (e.g., increasing risk perception through health feedback, mHealth, behavioral activation, and E-cigarettes).  
Belinda_Borrelli@Brown.edu

Willoughby Britton
Assistant Professor of Psychiatry & Human Behavior (Research)
Sleep, emotional disturbances, and new treatment/prevention strategies for mood disorders. The neurophysiological effects of mindfulness meditation in depression, including executive, affective, sleep, EEG, and endocrine functioning.
Willoughby_Britton@brown.edu

Cinnamon Bidwell
Assistant Professor of Psychiatry & Human Behavior (Research)
Genetic and environmental determinants of mental health and substance use outcomes across development.
Cinnamon_Bidwell@brown.edu

Michael Carey
Professor of Psychiatry and Human Behavior
Behavioral assessment and interventions for sexual risk reduction, HIV/STD prevention, and sexual health promotion; mechanisms of health behavior change; health promotion for multiple health behaviors; health disparities.
Michael_Carey@brown.edu

Suzanne Colby
Professor of Psychiatry and Human Behavior (Research)
Laboratory and clinical studies, treatment development, and instrumentation research related to adolescent and young adult substance use disorders. Innovative interventions targeting heavy drinking, HIV risk behavior, and smoking in various poplulations including adolescents, young adults, adults receiving emergency medical care, and adults with schizophrenia.
Suzanne_Colby@brown.edu

Valerie Knopik
Associate Professor of Psychiatry and Human Behavior  (Research)
The joint effects and interaction of genetic and environmental (specifically prenatal and early postnatal) risk factors on childhood externalizing behavior (e.g., Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder, Conduct Disorder, Oppositional Defiant Disorder) and associated learning and cognitive deficits.
Valerie_Knopik@brown.edu

Kathleen Morrow
Associate Professor of Psychiatry and Human Behavior  (Research) 
HIV/STI prevention and reproductive health: evaluating user sensory perceptions and experiences of biomedical prevention technologies, such as vaginal and rectal microbicides and multipurpose prevention technologies; assessing product perceptibility, acceptability and use behaviors (adherence); biomedical prevention technology design and development; assessment and prevention intervention development.
kmorrow@lifespan.org

Bernadine Pinto
Professor of Psychiatry and Human Behavior (Research) 
Exercise promotion among adults (middle-aged and older) with chronic diseases.  Promoting healthy lifestyles to help with recovery from cancer treatments.  Implementation of exercise interventions and train-the-trainer approaches for exercise promotion.
Bernadine_Pinto@Brown.edu

Patricia Risica
Assistant Professor of Epidemiology (Research) 
Obesity, nutritional epidemiology and eating behaviors; the influence of location of fat on the body with disease risk; weight gain during pregnancy and keeping weight after pregnancy; breastfeeding; and diabetes, heart disease and obesity among African American women, in addition to Alaska Natives and other native peoples around the polar parts of the globe.
Patricia_Risica@Brown.edu

Lori A.J. Scott-Sheldon
Assistant Professor of Psychiatry and Human Behavior (Research)
Methodological and statistical tools for evidence-based medicine; meta-analysis; health promotion and disease prevention; sexual health; alcohol; HIV/AIDS; global health.
Lori_Scott-Sheldon@Brown.edu

Laura Stroud
Associate Professor of Psychiatry and Human Behavior (Research)
Biobehavioral mechanisms of risk for depression and addiction (smoking/nicotine dependence); focus on child/adolescent and perinatal-fetal-infant transitions; physiological (HPA, neuroendocrine) responses to stress  in children/adolescents, infants, and pregnant mothers; HPA and fMRI response to social stressors in relation to risk for depression/addiction, maternal smoking and depression during pregnancy and effects on fetal and infant stress response and neurobehavior, emergence of sex differences in depression across the adolescent transition.
Laura_Stroud@Brown.edu

Jennifer Tidey
Associate Professor of Psychiatry and Human Behavior (Research) 
Tobacco regulatory science; smoking and other drug use in people with psychiatric illness; human behavioral pharmacology laboratory research; contingency management.
Jennifer_Tidey@Brown.edu

Golfo Tzilos
Assistant Professor of Psychiatry and Human Behavior (Research)
Brief interventions for HIV/STI risk behaviors, alcohol and drug use; computer-delivered SBIRT;  high-risk, underserved women populations.
Golfo_Tzilos@brown.edu

Jacob Vandenberg
Assistant Professor of Medicine (Research)
The development and evaluation of community-based behavioral and biomedical health interventions for underserved and marginalized groups. Advancing the integration of health informatics (eHealth/mHealth) and behavioral strategies for preventing HIV/STIs among MSM. 
jvandenberg@lifespan.org

Jennifer Walsh
Assistant Professor of Psychiatry and Human Behavior (Research)
Sexual health promotion and risk reduction among sexually transmitted infection (STI) clinic patients and adolescents and emerging adults; integrative data analysis of HIV prevention interventions; application of advanced statistical methods to intervention data; longitudinal data analysis.
Jennifer_Walsh@Brown.edu

Margaret Wool
Clinical Associate Professor of Family Medicine
The interface and interaction of personal/psychological adjustment and medical illness, particularly psychosocial oncology. Clinical practice; teaching at the undergraduate, graduate level, and medical school; and collaborative research.
Margaret_Wool@brown.edu

Go to top

Adjunct Faculty and Research Associates

Timothy Apodaca
Assistant Professor
University of Missouri
Timothy_Apodaca@brown.edu

Jordan Braciszewski
Assistant Professor
PIRE Decision Sciences Institute
Jordan_Braciszewski@brown.edu

Catherine Dube
Associate Professor
Centers for Behavioral and Preventive Medicine
Catherine_Dube@brown.edu

Christianne Esposito-Smythers
Assistant Professor (Research)
George Mason University
Christianne_Esposito-Smythers@brown.edu

Ronnesia Gaskins
Assistant Professor
University of Massachusetts, Worcester
Ronnesia_Gaskins@brown.edu

Medeva Ghee
Teaching Associate
The Leadership Alliance
Medeva_Ghee@brown.edu

Irene Glasser
Research Associate
Irene_Glasser@brown.edu

Bettina Hoeppner
Assistant Professor
Mass General Hospital
Bettina_Hoeppner@brown.edu

John Hustad
Assistant Professor
Penn State University
John_Hustad@brown.edu

Suzanne Jacobs
Teaching Associate
suzanne_jacobs@brown.edu

John Kelly
Associate Professor
Mass General Hospital
John_Kelly@brown.edu

Susan Kiene
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Primary Institution
Susan_Kiene@brown.edu

Christina Lee
Assistant Professor (Research)
Northeastern University
Christina_Lee@brown.edu

Lorenzo Leggio
Associate Professor
National Institutes of Health
lorenzo.leggio@nih.gov

Kimberly Leite-Morris
Assistant Professor (Research)
Primary Institution
Kimberly_Leite-Morris@brown.edu

James MacKillop
Associate Professor
University of Georgia
jmackill@uga.edu

Bess Marcus
Professor
University of California at San Diego
Bess_Marcus@brown.edu

Allecia Reid
Assistant Professor
Colby College
Allecia_Reid@brown.edu

Elizabeth Reynolds
Research Associate
Elizabeth_Reynolds@brown.edu

Sarah Skeels
Teaching Associate
Sarah_Skeels@brown.edu

Margie Skeer
Assistant Professor
Tufts University
Margie.Skeer@tufts.edu                                                                                                               

Alison Tovar
Assistant Professor
Alison_Tovar@brown.edu

Mark Wood
Professor
University of Rhode Island
Mark_Wood@brown.edu

Go to top

Emeritus Faculty

Donald Giddon
Clinical Professor
Donald_Giddon@brown.edu

Lois Monteiro
Professor
Lois_Monteiro@brown.edu

Go to top