People

Staff

Laura Bennett

Core Network Manager, Dancing Legacy Director
laurabennett@adli.us
401 863 3488 
Contact for American Dance Legacy Initative

Amelia Grabowski

Caretaker
amelia_grabowski@brown.edu

Nicole Larrondo

Caretaker
nicole_larrondo@brown.edu

Ronald Potvin
Assistant Director for Professional Programs
ronald_potvin@brown.edu
 401 863 5312
Contact for Nightingale-Brown House or its collections, use of exhibit galleries,  ommunity jobs, and the public humanities practicum program 

Robyn Schroeder

M.A. Advisor 
robyn_schroeder@brown.edu
401 863 1396

Susan Smulyan

Director, Professor of American Studies 
susan_smulyan@brown.edu
401 863 6115 
Contact for academic + public programs, the M.A. in public humanities

2014/2015 Faculty 

Rick Benjamin

Adjunct Assistant Professor in Public Humanities
AMST 12691: Poetry in Service to Schools and the Community (Spring 2015)
ribenjam@gmail.com

Willow Brugh

Adjunct Instructor in Public Humanities
AMST 1905V: Digital Communities (Spring 2015)
willow.bl00@gmail.com

Craig Dreeszen

Adjunct Assistant Professor in Public Humanities
AMST 2656: Cultural Policy Planning (Fall 2014)
craig@dreeszen.com

Caroline Frank

Adjunct Assistant Professor in American Studies
AMST 1905M: Whose Heritage? National Landmarks for Diverse Publics (Spring 2015)
caroline_frank@brown.edu

Sarah Ganz Blythe
Adjunct Assistant Profesor in Public Humanities
AMST 2697 Museum Interpretation Practices (Fall 2014)
sganz@risd.edu

Matt London

Adjunct Instructor in Public Humanities
AMST 2699 Digital Storytelling (Fall 2014)
matthew_london@brown.edu

Steve Lubar

Professor of American Studies and History
AMST 2650 Introduction to Public Humanities (Fall 2014)
AMST 1903I Museum Histories (Spring 2015)
lubar@brown.edu

Ron Potvin

Adjunct Instructor in Public Humanities
AMST 1510: Museum Collections and Collecting (Fall 2014)
ronald_potvin@brown.edu

Susan Smulyan

Professor, American Studies
AMST 2540: Methods in Public Humanities (Spring 2015)
susan_smulyan@brown.edu

Janet Zweig

Adjunct Assistant Professor in Public Humanities
AMST 2653: Public Art, Theory and Practice (Fall 2014)
janetzweig@earthlink.net

Center Advisory Board

Prof. Tony Bogues
Department of Africana Studies and Center for the Study of Slavery and Justice
Brown University

Dan Cohen
Executive Director
Digital Public Library of America

Kath Connolly
Director of Partnerships
The Learning Community, Central Falls, RI

Prof. Beshara Doumani
Department of History and Center for Middle East Studies
Brown University

Prof. Julie Ellison
Departments of American Culture and English
University of Michigan

Elizabeth Francis
Executive Director
Rhode Island Council for the Humanities

Prof. Matt Guterl
Chair, Department of American Studies
Brown University

Stephanie Norby
Director
Smithsonian Center for Learning and Digital Access 

Clay Rockefeller
Providence, RI

Randy Rosenbaum
Director
Rhode Island State Council for the Arts

John Smith
Director
RISD Museum

Prof. Elizabeth Taylor
Department of English
Brown University

Morris Vogel
Director
Lower East Side Tenement Museum

 

 

 

 

Public Humanities Events

Spotlight