A Conversation with Playwright and Director Young Jean Lee

Tuesday, March 19, 6:00-7:30 PM, Leeds Theatre, Lyman Hall, 77 Waterman Street, Providence

Please join us for a conversation with acclaimed  playwright and director YOUNG JEAN LEE, moderated by TAPS Department Chair, Rebecca Schneider.

Young Jean LeeYoung Jean LeeThe New York Times hailed Lee "THE MOST ADVENTUROUS DOWNTOWN PLAYWRIGHT OF HER GENERATION." Time Out New York called her "one of the best experimental playwrights in America." Come take part in the conversation with this exciting and provocative artist-in-residence. This event is free and open to the public. 

Young Jean Lee's residency is supported by the Creative Arts Council and the Granoff Center for the Creative Arts and the Theatre Arts and Performance Studies Department.

YOUNG JEAN LEE is an OBIE award-winning playwright and director who has been called “the most adventurous downtown playwright of her generation” by the New York Times and “one of the best experimental playwrights in America” by Time Out New York. She has written and directed nine shows in New York with Young Jean Lee's Theater Company and toured her work to over twenty cities around the world. Her plays have been published by Theatre Communications Group (Songs of the Dragons Flying to Heaven and Other Plays, The Shipment and Lear) and by Samuel French (Three Plays by Young Jean Lee). She is currently under commission from Plan B/Paramount Pictures, Lincoln Center Theater, Playwrights Horizons, and the Oregon Shakespeare Festival. She is a member of New Dramatists and 13P and has an MFA from Mac Wellman's playwriting program at Brooklyn College. She has received grants from the Foundation for Contemporary Arts, Creative Capital, NYFA, NEA, NYSCA, the Jerome Foundation, the Greenwall Foundation, and the Rockefeller MAP Foundation. She is also the recipient of two OBIE awards, the Festival Prize of the Zuercher Theater Spektakel, a 2010 Prize in Literature from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, a 2011 Guggenheim Fellowship and a 2012 Doris Duke Artist Award.