Concentration Requirements Worksheet (updated April 2014)

The standard Urban Studies concentration requires 10 courses. All students take the following:

1  Introductory course
1  Research Skills course
3  Basic Curriculum: Core Discipline courses
3  Basic Curriculum: Seminars
2  Complementary Curriculum courses

The Basic Curriculum consists of two parts, core disciplines and seminar courses.  It is structured to familiarize students with a range of disciplinary approaches to the city as well as how to integrate them. Our core disciplinary courses introduce students to the central subject areas and theoretical perspectives within Urban Studies.  Seminars allow more intensive study of specialized topics and give students the opportunity to carry out research and fieldwork projects. These courses may provide students with original "capstone" experiences and extended writing projects with which to culminate their Urban Studies concentration.

Students must take Basic Curriculum core courses in at least 3 of disciplines, such as American Studies, anthropology, archeology, economics, education, environmental studies, history, history of art and architecture, literature, political science, and sociology, as well as urban planning.  Seminars are more interdisciplinary and focused on specific urban themes, issues, or problems.  These smaller classes insure the integration of diverse perspectives, often marshaled to solve practical dilemmas.  The seminars also train students to cooperate, share information, and express themselves verbally and in writing.

The Complementary Curriculum flexibly recognizes courses with urban content throughout the wide range of the university’s departments.  In consultations with the concentration advisor, students select two such urban-related courses.  These may include additional Introductory, methods, or Basic Urban Studies courses and seminars, but we encourage students to consider additional course offerings including, but not limited to, those in the traditional disciplines.