People

Steering Committee

Ashutosh Varshney

Director, Brown-India Initiative
Sol Goldman Professor of International Studies and the Social Sciences
Ashutosh_Varshney@brown.edu

Andrew Foster

Professor of Economics
Professor of Health Services, Policy and Practice
Andrew_Foster@brown.edu

Leela Gandhi

John Hawkes Professor of Humanities and English
Leela_Gandhi@brown.edu

Patrick Heller

Professor of Sociology and International Studies
Patrick_Heller@brown.edu

Bhrigupati Singh

Assistant Professor of Anthropology
Bhrigupati_Singh@brown.edu

Faculty Associates

Faiz Ahmed

Assistant Professor
History
Faiz_Ahmed@brown.edu

Charles Carpenter

Professor of Medicine
Charles_Carpenter@brown.edu

Nitsan Chorev

Harmon Family Professor of Sociology and International Studies
Professor of Sociology
Director of Development Studies
Nitsan_Chorev@brown.edu

James Fitzgerald

St. Purandara Das Distinguished Professor of Classics
Professor of Religious Studies
James_Fitzgerald@brown.edu

Lina M. Fruzzetti

Professor of Anthropology
Lina_Fruzzetti@brown.edu

Ashok K. Koul

Senior Lecturer in Language Studies
Ashok_Koul@brown.edu

Sriniketh Nagavarapu

Assistant Professor of Economics and Environmental Studies
Sriniketh_Nagavarapu@brown.edu

Anja Sautmann

Assistant Professor of Economics
Anja_Sautmann@brown.edu

Prerna Singh

Mahatma Gandhi Assistant Professor of Political Science and International Studies
Prerna_Singh@brown.edu

Kenneth K. Wong

Walter and Leonore Annenberg Professor of Education Policy
Professor of Urban Studies
Kenneth_Wong@brown.edu

Vazira F-Y Zamindar

Associate Professor of History
Vazira_F-Y_Zamindar@brown.edu

Postdoctoral Associates

Bindu Panikkar

Adjunct Assistant Professor of Molecular Biology, Cell Biology and Biochemistry
Bindu_Panikkar@brown.edu

Graduate Student Associates

Bhawani Buswala

Anthropology
Bhawani_Buswala@brown.edu

Poulomi Chakrabarti

Political Science
Poulomi_Chakrabarti@brown.edu

David Glick

Economics
David_Glick@brown.edu

Brian Horton

Anthropology
Brian_Horton@brown.edu

Rajeev Kadambi

Political Science
Rajeev_Kadambi@brown.edu

Daniel Kushner

Political Science
Daniel_Kushner@brown.edu

Jamie McPike

Sociology
Jamie_McPike@brown.edu

Abhilash Medhi

History
Abhilash_Medhi@brown.edu

Rijuta Mehta

Modern Culture and Media
Rijuta_Mehta@brown.edu

Irene Pang

Sociology
Oi-Ying_Pang@brown.edu

Anar Parikh

Anthropology
Anar_Parikh@brown.edu

Rama Srinivasan

Anthropology
Rama_Srinivasan@brown.edu

Andrea Wright

Anthropology
Andrea_Wright@brown.edu

Staff

Stephanie Abbott-Pandey

Program Manager
Stephanie_Abbott-Pandey@brown.edu

Aliza Elkin

Administrative Coordinator
Aliza_Elkin@brown.edu