People

Steering Committee

Ashutosh Varshney
Director, Brown-India Initiative
Sol Goldman Professor of International
Studies and the Social Sciences
Ashutosh_Varshney@brown.edu

Lina Fruzzetti
Royce Family Professor in Teaching Excellence and Professor of Anthropology
Lina_Fruzzetti@brown.edu

Vazira F-Y Zamindar

Associate Professor
History
vfyz@brown.edu

Andrew Foster
Professor of Economics
Professor of Health Services, Policy and Practice
Andrew_Foster@brown.edu

Patrick Heller

Professor of Sociology and
International Studies
Patrick_Heller@brown.edu

 

Faculty Associates

Faiz Ahmed

Assistant Professor
History
Faiz_Ahmed@brown.edu

Nitsan Chorev

Associate Professor
Sociology

James Fitzgerald

St. Purandara Das Distinguished 
Professor and Chair of Classics,  
Faculty Affiliate in Religious Studies
James_Fitzgerald@brown.edu 

Sriniketh Nagavarapu

Assistant Professor of Economics
and Environmental Studies
Sriniketh_Nagavarapu@brown.edu

Kenneth K. Wong

Walter and Leonore Annenberg
Chair for Education Policy
Kenneth_Wong@brown.edu

Charles Carpenter, MD

Professor
Medicine
Charles_Carpenter@brown.edu

Rana Dasgupta

Visiting Lecturer
Modern Culture and Media

Ashok K. Koul

Senior Lecturer in Hindi-Urdu 
Language Studies
Ashok_Koul@brown.edu 

Anja Sautmann

Assistant Professor
Economics
Anja_Sautmann@brown.edu 

Postdoctoral Associates

Bhrigupati Singh

Anthropology and International Studies
Bhrigupati_Singh@brown.edu

Bindu Panikkar

Sociology
Bindu_Panikkar@brown.edu

Graduate Student Associates

Bhawani Buswala
Anthropology
Bhawani_Buswala@brown.edu

David Glick
Economics
David_Glick@brown.edu

Rajeev Kadambi
Political Science
Rajeev_Kadambi@brown.edu

Jamie McPike
Sociology
Jamie_McPike@brown.edu

Trina Vithayathil
Sociology
Trina_Vithayathil@brown.edu

Poulomi Chakrabarti
Political Science
Poulomi_Chakrabarti@brown.edu

Brian Horton
Anthropology
Brian_Horton@brown.edu

Daniel Kushner
Political Science
Daniel_Kushner@brown.edu

Gayatri Singh
Sociology
Gayatri_Singh@brown.edu

Andrea Wright
Anthropology
Andrea_Wright@brown.edu

Staff

Stephanie Abbott-Pandey
Program Manager
Stephanie_Abbott-Pandey@brown.edu

Aliza Elkin
Administrative Coordinator
Aliza_Elkin@brown.edu