Gender and Sexuality Studies Affiliated Faculty

Susan Allen
Professor of Medical Science and Sociology
Susan_Allen@brown.edu

Gianpaolo Baiocchi
Associate Professor of Sociology
Gianpaolo_Baiocchi@brown.edu

Shiva Balaghi
Postdoctoral Fellow, Cogut Center for the Humanities
Associated Faculty, Watson Institute for International Studies
Shiva_Balaghi@brown.edu

Omer Bartov
Professor of History
Omer_Bartov@Brown.EDU

Reda Bensmaia
Professor of French Studies
Reda_Bensmaia@Brown.EDU

Katherine Bergeron
Dean of the College and Professor of Music
Katherine_Bergeron@brown.edu

Susan Bernstein
Professor of Comparative Literature
Susan_Bernstein@Brown.EDU

Timothy Bewes
Associate Professor of English
Timothy_Bewes@Brown.EDU

Mark Blyth
Professor of Political Science
Mark_Blyth@brown.edu

Anthony Bogues
Professor of Africana Studies
Barrymore_Bogues@Brown.EDU

Sheila Bonde
Dean of the Graduate School and Professor of History of Art and Architecture
Sheila_Bonde@Brown.EDU

Leslie Bostrom
Associate Professor of Art
Leslie_Bostrom@Brown.EDU

Lundy Braun
Professor of Medical Science
Lundy_Braun@Brown.EDU

Marcy Brink-Danan
Assistant Professor of Judaic Studies
Marcy_Brink-Danan@brown.edu

Cynthia Brokaw
Professor of History
Cynthia_Brokaw@brown.edu

Keith Brown
Associate Professor of International Studies
Keith_Brown@Brown.EDU

Elizabeth Johnson Bryan
Associate Professor of English
Elizabeth_Bryan@Brown.EDU

Mari Jo Buhle, Emerita
William J. Kenan Jr. University Professor, American Civilization and History
Mari_Buhle@Brown.EDU

Caroline Castiglione
Associate Professor of Italian Studies & History
Caroline_Castiglione@brown.edu

Wendy Hui Kyong Chun
Professor of Modern Culture and Media
Wendy_Hui_Kyong_Chun@Brown.EDU

Mark Cladis
Professor of Religious Studies
Mark_Cladis@brown.edu

Gail Cohee
Director, Sarah Doyle Women’s Center
Gail_Cohee@Brown.edu

Linda Cook
Professor of Political Science
Linda_Cook@Brown.EDU

Carolyn Dean
John Hay Professor of International Studies
Carolyn_Dean@Brown.EDU

Carol Deboer-Langworthy
Visiting Lecturer in English
Carol_DeBoer-Langworthy@Brown.edu

Jeri Debrohun
Associate Professor of Classics
Jeri_DeBrohun@brown.edu

James Der Derian
Professor of International Studies (Research)
James_Der_Derian@Brown.EDU

Ann Dill
Associate Professor of Sociology
Ann_Dill@Brown.EDU

Svetlana Evdokimova
Professor of Slavic Languages
Svetlana_Evdokimova@Brown.EDU

Anne Fausto-Sterling
Nancy Duke Lewis Chair, Professor of Biology
Anne_Fausto-Sterling@Brown.EDU

Sarah Fox
Assistant Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology
Sarah_D_Fox@brown.edu

Lina Fruzzetti
Royce Family Professor in Teaching Excellence and Professor of Anthropology
Lina_Fruzzetti@brown.edu

Cynthia Garcia Coll
Professor of Education
Cynthia_Garcia_Coll@brown.edu

Mary Gluck
Professor of History
Mary_Gluck@Brown.EDU

Katherine R. Goodman, Emerita
Professor Emerita of German Studies
Katherine_Goodman@Brown.EDU

Dana Gooley
Associate Professor of Music
Dana_Gooley@brown.edu

Amy Gottlieb
Assistant Professor of Medicine (Clinical)
Amy_Gottlieb@brown.edu

James N. Green
Professor of History and Brazilian Studies
James_Green@brown.edu

Philip Gruppuso
Associate Dean of Medicine
Philip_Gruppuso@Brown.EDU

Matthew Gutmann
Vice President for International Affairs; Professor of Anthropology
Matthew_Gutmann@Brown.EDU

Sherine Hamdy
Assistant Professor of Anthropology
Sherine_Hamdy@brown.edu

Françoise Hamlin
Assistant Professor of Africana Studies
Francoise_Hamlin@brown.edu

Jo-Anne Hart
Watson Institute for International Studies
Jo-Anne_Hart@Brown.EDU

Susan Ashbrook Harvey
Willard Prescott and Annie McClelland Smith Professor of Religious Studies
Susan_Harvey@Brown.EDU

Beverly Haviland
Senior Lecturer in American Civilization
Beverly_Haviland@Brown.EDU

Paget Henry
Professor of Sociology
Paget_Henry@Brown.EDU

Marida Hollos
Professor of Anthropology
Marida_Hollos@Brown.EDU

Jose Itzigsohn
Professor of Sociology
Jose_Itzigsohn@Brown.EDU

Lynne Joyrich
Associate Professor of Modern Culture and Media
Lynne_Joyrich@brown.edu

Coppélia Kahn
Professor of English
Coppelia_Kahn@brown.edu

Tamar Katz
Associate Professor of English
Tamar_Katz@brown.edu

Michael Kennedy
Director, Watson Institute
Michael_Kennedy@brown.edu

Jacques Khalip
Assistant Professor of English
Jacques_Khalip@brown.edu

David Konstan, Emeritus
Professor Emeritus of Classics and Comparative Literature
David_Konstan@brown.edu

Ross S. Kraemer
Professor of Religious Studies and Judaic Studies
Ross_Kraemer@brown.edu

Sharon Krause
Professor of Political Science
Sharon_Krause@Brown.EDU

Virginia Krause
Associate Professor of French Studies
Virginia_Krause@Brown.EDU

K. Dian Kriz
Professor of History of Art and Architecture
K_Kriz@Brown.EDU

Jessaca Leinaweaver
Assistant Professor of Anthropology
Jessaca_Leinaweaver@brown.edu

Eng-Beng Lim
Assistant Professor of Theatre Arts & Performance Studies
Eng-Beng_Lim@brown.edu

Evelyn Lincoln
Associate Professor of History of Art & Architecture
Evelyn_Lincoln@Brown.EDU

Nancy Luke
Assistant Professor of Sociology
Nancy_Luke@brown.edu

Catherine Lutz
Thomas J. Watson, Jr. Family Professor of Anthropology and International Studies; Chair, Department of Anthropology
Catherine_Lutz@brown.edu

Maud Mandel
Associate Professor of Judaic Studies
Maud_Mandel@Brown.EDU

Stephanie Merrim
Professor of Comparative Literature
Stephanie_Merrim@Brown.EDU

Kiri Miller
Assistant Professor of Music
Kiri_Miller@brown.edu

Dietrich Neumann
Professor of History of Art and Architecture
Dietrich_Neumann@Brown.EDU

Karen Newman
Professor of Comparative Literature
Karen_Newman@brown.edu

Tara Nummedal
Associate Professor of History
Tara_Nummedal@Brown.EDU

Deborah Pearlman
Assistant Professor of Community Health (Research)
Deborah_Pearlman@Brown.EDU

Keisha-Khan Perry
Assistant Professor of Africana Studies
Keisha-Khan_Perry@brown.edu

Samuel Perry
Assistant Professor of East Asian Studies
Samuel_Perry@brown.edu

Carol Jean Poore
Professor of German Studies
Carol_Poore@brown.edu

Melinda Alliker Rabb
Professor of English
Melinda_Rabb@Brown.edu

Richard Rambuss
Professor of English
Richard_Rambuss@Brown.edu

Thangam Ravindranathan
Assistant Professor of French Studies
Thangam_Ravindranathan@brown.edu

Marc Redfield
Professor of English
Marc_Redfield@brown.edu

Bernard Reginster
Professor of Philosophy
Bernard_Reginster@Brown.EDU

Ravit Reichman
Associate Professor of English
Ravit_Reichman@brown.edu

Amy Remensnyder
Associate Professor of History
Amy_Remensnyder@Brown.EDU

Massimo Riva
Professor of Italian Studies
Massimo_Riva@Brown.EDU

Ralph Rodriguez
Associate Professor of American Civilization
Ralph_Rodriguez@brown.edu

Seth Rockman
Associate Professor of History
Seth_Rockman@brown.edu

Ellen Rooney
Professor of English
Ellen_Rooney@Brown.EDU

Tricia Rose
Professor of Africana Studies
Tricia_Rose@brown.edu

Philip Rosen
Professor of Modern Culture and Media
Philip_Rosen@Brown.EDU

Geoffrey Russom, Emeritus
Professor Emeritus of English
Geoffrey_Russom@Brown.EDU

Pierre Saint-Amand
Francis Wayland Professor, Professor of French Studies and Comparative Literature
Pierre_Saint-Amand@Brown.EDU

Michael Satlow
Professor of Religious Studies and Judaic Studies
Michael_Satlow@Brown.EDU

Rebecca Schneider
Associate Professor of Theatre, Speech and Dance
Rebecca_Schneider@Brown.EDU

Gretchen Schultz
Associate Professor of French Studies
Gretchen_Schultz@Brown.EDU

Lewis C. Seifert
Professor of French Studies
Lewis_Seifert@Brown.EDU

Robert Self
Associate Professor of History
Robert_Self@brown.edu

Naoko Shibusawa
Associate Professor of History
Naoko_Shibusawa@brown.edu

Susan E. Short
Associate Professor of Sociology
Susan_Short@Brown.EDU

Hilary Silver
Associate Professor of Sociology
Hilary_Silver@Brown.EDU

Barbara Herrnstein Smith
Professor of English
Barbara_H_Smith@brown.edu

Daniel Jordan Smith
Associate Professor of Anthropology
Daniel_J_Smith@brown.edu

Susan Smulyan
Professor of American Civilization
Susan_Smulyan@Brown.EDU

Zachary Sng
Associate Professor of German Studies
Zachary_Sng@brown.edu

Michael P. Steinberg
Director, Cogut Humanities Center, Barnaby Conrad and Mary Critchfield Keeney Professor of History and Professor of Music
Michael_Steinberg@brown.edu

Suzanne Stewart-Steinberg
Associate Professor of Comparative Literature and Italian Studies
Suzanne_Stewart-Steinberg@brown.edu

Stanley Stowers
Professor of Religious Studies
Stanley_Stowers@Brown.EDU

Rose Rosengard Subotnik, Emerita
Professor Emerita of Music
Rose_Subotnik@Brown.EDU

Elmo Terry-Morgan
Associate Professor of Africana Studies
Elmo_Terry-Morgan@Brown.EDU

Nicholas W. Townsend
Associate Professor of Anthropology
Nicholas_Townsend@brown.edu

Nelson Vieira
Professor of Portuguese & Brazilian Studies
Nelson_Vieira@Brown.EDU

Meera S. Viswanathan
Associate Professor of Comparative Literature and East Asian Studies
Meera_Viswanathan@brown.edu

Lingzhen Wang
Associate Professor of East Asian Studies
Lingzhen_Wang@Brown.EDU

Kay Warren
Charles C. Tillinghast Jr. '32 Professor in International Studies and Professor of Anthropology; Director Pembroke Center
Kay_Warren@brown.edu

Elizabeth Weed
Professor Emerita of Gender and Sexuality Studies
Elizabeth_Weed@Brown.EDU

Debbie Weinstein
Director of Gender and Sexuality Studies
Deborah_Weinstein@brown.edu

Esther Whitfield
Associate Professor of Comparative Literature
Esther_Whitfield@Brown.EDU

Donna M. Wulff
Associate Professor of Religious Studies
Donna_Wulff@brown.edu

Patricia Ybarra
Associate Professor of Theatre Arts & Performance Studies
Patricia_Ybarra@brown.edu