About Us

What is the Brown Design Workshop?

The Brown Design Workshop is a new space on campus designed to provide a collaborative and creative environment for project-based learning. Open to all of Brown and RISD, the space houses a new set of rapid prototyping equipment, allowing students the opportunity to bridge the gap between theory and practice by framing projects as a response to their own curiosities and interests, thus uniting classroom and experiential learning. The ample workspace and engineering equipment of Prince Lab coupled with the unique blend of creative thinkers on College Hill can transform the Design Workshop into a place where play, tinkering, and peer-to-peer learning thrive. We hope that an interdisciplinary, creative community, will take root, and that studios like this will serve as a model for more project-based learning classes in the School of Engineering.

Like us on Facebook to stay updated with news and events!

Who are we?

Faculty

Chris Bull is trained in mechanical and electrical engineering and material science. For the past twenty years, he has been involved in appropriate technology, co-teaching a course at Brown University and co-authoring two books on the subject with Professor Barrett Hazeltine: "Appropriate Technology; Tools, Choices, and Implications" (1998) and co-editor, "Field Guide of Appropriate Technology" (2002). He has developed collaborations with the Design Division of the Rhode Island School of Design, co-teaching design studios for engineering and design students, and working with colleagues there on a variety of design projects.
E-mail: cbull@brown.edu   Office: PL 207   Phone: 401-863-2572


Clyde Briant
is the Otis E. Randall University Professor and Professor of Engineering at Brown University. From 2003-2006 he served as Dean of Engineering at Brown and from 2006-2013 he served as Vice President for Research. Prior to joining the Brown faculty in 1994, Briant worked at the GE Research and Development Center (1976-1994). He received his Doctor of Engineering Science degree in materials science from Columbia University in 1974 and was a post-doctoral researcher at the University of Pennsylvania from 1974 to 1976. His primary research interest has been in the area of structural materials and more recently has moved into the field of science and engineering studies. He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering.
E-mail: Clyde_Briant@brown.edu

Ian Gonsher is an artist, designer, and educator. He is on the faculty in the School of Engineering at Brown University, where his teaching and research focus on the creative process through interdisciplinary practice. He is also the Associate Director of the Brown Creative Mind Initiative. Ian has degrees in Art History and Industrial Design from the University of Kansas, and also holds an MFA in Furniture Design from the Rhode Island School of Design. His most recent work focuses on design strategies that blend creative practices across disciplines as a means of developing pedagogical strategies for teaching creative thinking.
E-Mail: Ian_Gonsher@brown.edu   Website: http://www.gonsherdesign.com/

Staff

Brian Corkum  Senior Technical Assistant  Brian_Corkum@brown.edu 
Benjamin Lyons Senior Technical Assistant  Benjamin_Lyons@brown.edu
Michael Packer Senior Instrument Maker Michael_Packer@brown.edu
Raymond Pagliarini Senior Instrument Maker

Charlie Vickers  JEPIS Manager  Charlie_Vickers_Jr@brown.edu 
Paul Waltz Senior Technical Assistant Paul_Waltz@brown.edu

Managers

Gareth Chen Gareth_Chen@brown.edu new monitor signup & training, workshops
Ahyoung Choe Ah_Choe@brown.edu events, workshops, monitor hours & calendar accountability
Eric Shine Eric_Shine@brown.edu new member signup & training

Head Monitors

Benjamin Basseches Benjamin_Basseches@brown.edu Michael Manning
Michael_Manning@brown.edu 
John Filmanowicz 
John_Filmanowicz@brown.edu Margaret Mathieu
Margaret_Mathieu@brown.edu
Evan Finkle  Evan_Finkle@brown.edu Danica Mitchell Danica_Mitchell@brown.edu
Alexander Hadik Alexander_Hadik@brown.edu Minsoo Thigpen  Minsoo_Thigpen@brown.edu 
Kenta Kondo Kenta_Kondo@brown.edu Lukas WinklerPrins Lukas@brown.edu

Monitors

Nicholas Anthony Aryssa Medina
daniedanieDaniel Bronstein Avery Rock
Sarah Dugan Katherine Rowe
Jacob Feder Jacob_Feder@brown.edu Giorgio Savini Zangrandi
Isaku Kamada

Contact Us

Send all inquiries to designworkshop@brown.edu or drop by and talk to us during open hours! We’re located within Prince Lab off Barus and Holly, just east of Brook Street between Waterman and George. See this map for more detailed directions.