About Us

What is the Brown Design Workshop?

The Brown Design Workshop is a new space on campus designed to provide a collaborative and creative environment for project-based learning. Open to all of Brown and RISD, the space houses a new set of rapid prototyping equipment, allowing students the opportunity to bridge the gap between theory and practice by framing projects as a response to their own curiosities and interests, thus uniting classroom and experiential learning. The ample workspace and engineering equipment of Prince Lab coupled with the unique blend of creative thinkers on College Hill can transform the Design Workshop into a place where play, tinkering, and peer-to-peer learning thrive. We hope that an interdisciplinary, creative community, will take root, and that studios like this will serve as a model for more project-based learning classes in the School of Engineering.

Like us on Facebook to stay updated with news and events!

Who are we?

Faculty

Chris Bull is trained in mechanical and electrical engineering and material science. For the past twenty years, he has been involved in appropriate technology, co-teaching a course at Brown University and co-authoring two books on the subject with Professor Barrett Hazeltine: "Appropriate Technology; Tools, Choices, and Implications" (1998) and co-editor, "Field Guide of Appropriate Technology" (2002). He has developed collaborations with the Design Division of the Rhode Island School of Design, co-teaching design studios for engineering and design students, and working with colleagues there on a variety of design projects.
E-mail: cbull@brown.edu   Office: PL 207   Phone: 863-2572


Clyde Briant
is the Otis E. Randall University Professor and Professor of Engineering at Brown University. From 2003-2006 he served as Dean of Engineering at Brown and from 2006-2013 he served as Vice President for Research. Prior to joining the Brown faculty in 1994, Briant worked at the GE Research and Development Center (1976-1994). He received his Doctor of Engineering Science degree in materials science from Columbia University in 1974 and was a post-doctoral researcher at the University of Pennsylvania from 1974 to 1976. His primary research interest has been in the area of structural materials and more recently has moved into the field of science and engineering studies. He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering.
E-mail: Clyde_Briant@brown.edu

Ian Gonsher is an artist, designer, and educator. He is on the faculty in the School of Engineering at Brown University, where his teaching and research focus on the creative process through interdisciplinary practice. He is also the Associate Director of the Brown Creative Mind Initiative. Ian has degrees in Art History and Industrial Design from the University of Kansas, and also holds an MFA in Furniture Design from the Rhode Island School of Design. His most recent work focuses on design strategies that blend creative practices across disciplines as a means of developing pedagogical strategies for teaching creative thinking.
E-Mail: Ian_Gonsher@brown.edu   Website: http://www.gonsherdesign.com/

Staff

Brian Corkum
Benjamin Lyons
Michael Packer
Raymond Pagliarini
Charlie Vickers
Paul Waltz
Senior Technical Assistant Senior Technical Assistant Senior Instrument Maker Senior Instrument Maker
JEPIS Manager
Senior Technical Assistant
Brian_Corkum@brown.edu
Benjamin_Lyons@brown.edu    


Charlie_Vickers_Jr@brown.edu
Paul_Waltz@brown.edu

Managers

Gareth Chen
Ahyoung Choe  
Eric Shine 
gareth_chen@brown.edu
ah_choe@brown.edu eric_shine@brown.edu 
new monitor signup & training, workshops
events, workshops, monitor hours & calendar, accountability
new member signup & training  

Head Monitors

Benjamin Basseches 
John Filmanowicz Alexander Hadik
Kenta Kondo
Michael Manning

Benjamin_Basseches@brown.edu John_Filmanowicz@brown.edu Alexander_Hadik@brown.edu
Kenta_Kondo@brown.edu
Michael_Manning@brown.edu 
Margaret Mathieu
Danica Mitchell
Minsoo Thigpen
Lukas WinklerPrins
Margaret_Mathieu@brown.edu
Danica_Mitchell@brown.edu
M
insoo_Thigpen@brown.edu Lukas@brown.edu

Monitors

Maxime Dimich-Louvet 
Omar Nema
Joshua Shiau

Maxime_Dimich-Louvet@brown.edu
Omar_Nema@brown.edu
Joshua_Shiau@brown.edu
 

Contact Us

Send all inquiries to designworkshop@brown.edu or drop by and talk to us during open hours! We’re located within Prince Lab off Barus and Holly, just east of Brook Street between Waterman and George. See this map for more detailed directions.