People (w/table)

Primary Investigator

Jim Valles

Professor Valles does research in experimental condensed matter physics, in the areas of: superconductivity; electron correlation effects in disordered metals and nanostructures; and in using magnetic fields as a new tool for cell biology and biopolymerization. Professor Valles joined the faculty at Brown in 1992. Prior to this he was an Assistant Professor of Physics at the University of Oregon from 1989 to 1992 and a postdoctoral member of the technical staff at AT&T Bell Laboratories from 1987 to 1989. He received his Ph.D. from the University of Massachusetts in 1988 and his Bachelor of Arts from Dartmouth College in 1981. He is the recipient of an Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Fellowship.

 


Graduate Students

Il-yong Jung

Ilyong_Jung@brown.edu

My current research aims to characterize Paramecium swimming with applied strong magnetic forces. This includes how changes in viscosity affect on their beating frequency and thus their swimming properties. I designed a new physiological swimming model using their helical swimming parameters to investigate this problem. I hope this work can provide information about how Paramecia sense gravity forces, called gravi-kinesis.

Jimmy Joy

James_Joy@brown.edu

Chen Wei Zhao

Chen_Zhao@brown.edu

Undergraduate Students

Alexander Berg

Alexander_Berg@brown.edu

Chenming Jiang

Chenming_Jiang@brown.edu

Eva Lyubich

Eva_Lyubich@brown.edu

Cole van Krieken

Cole_van_Krieken@brown.edu

 


Past Graduate Students
Hung Nguyen [2004-2010]
Yongxing Guo [2003-2008]
Michael Stewart (Stew) [2001-2008]
Zhenyi Long
Taejoon Kouh (TJ)
Kamil Ekinci
Jami Valentine
Matthias Wickert
Meher Antia
James Chervenak
Shih-ying Hsu (Amy)
Yeong-Kuo Lin

Past Undergraduates
Eric Rudisaile [2010]
Ryan Murphy [2007-2008]
Nick Schade
Niravun Pavenayotin (Por)
Mariana Mihalusova
Sam Wurzel
Carl Quindel
Erin Quinn
Barry Jordan
Sarah Wasserman
Jill Edwardson
Rina Schweidenback
Eric Galburt
Kevin Lin
Jason Ledell
Ed Price